Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Newspapers and Newspaper Databases

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Arizona Republic    Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see also CD-News: Arizona Republic  January 1999 to present

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902
Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.

CD News: Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and Arizona Business Gazette (ASU Library workstations only)  (1987 to one month ago or more) Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette). Date Range: 1987 to one month ago or more. For online access to 1999-current Arizona Republic articles see Arizona Republic (Access World News).

Civil War Newspapers
This database is from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES FULL-TEXT DATABASES. It contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day.

Ethnic NewsWatch  (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media

Historical African American Newspapers Online:  This LibGuide produced by Elizabeth Clarke of Marist College provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.

Nexis Uni  Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.

NewsBank NewsFile CDROM : Historical Files 1980 - 1998  Provides full text access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. NewsBank Newsfile (1996-1998) which includes full text on the CD and NewsBank Reference Services Plus (1980-1996) which provides citations to the microfiche collection of the full text articles.

NewsLink This is the premier site for links to the current webpages of newspapers throughout the world.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily WOrld ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers;  ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975;Proquest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and Observer,1791 - 2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990  Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally. 

ProQuest Selectable Full Text Newspapers: Los Angeles Times    Full text of the Los Angeles Times, Jan 1, 1985 - current.

Wall Street Journal  (1986+) Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Hours and Locations