Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

General Databases

The databases listed here are those that cover a broad spectrum of topics rather than being specialized to history or another discipline.

Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
Tip: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

ACLS Humanities Ebook  The ACLS Humanities EBook is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan?s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.  

Humanities Full Text Includes full text
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective  Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology. 

Nineteenth Century Masterfile    (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995

Project Muse  (1990+) Provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890 -1982  Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.

Sociological Abstracts  Very useful database particularly for social and ethnic history -- covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Universal Database of Social Sciences and Humanities 
Includes materials from newspapers, journals, government documents, dissertations, etc. from Russia. It covers not only Humanities and Social Sciences but also Science and Technology, Medicine, and Agriculture.

Web of Knowledge  ISI Web of Knowledge is a research platform including tools for finding, analyzing and managing information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The major research resources available through the platform include:

  • Web of Science (including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index)

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)  
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes bibliographic records for any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

Subjects: History, Humanities
Tags: history

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.