Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Databases for Special Topics/Areas/Groups

These databases cover specialized groups of people, time periods, topic or areas of the world.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
(1934+) Indexes journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications, US state & regional periodicals, and major serials on architecture and design. Other subjects include Archeology, City & Urban planning, Historic preservation, etc.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Chicano Database
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.

Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History (1754+) 
HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library 

Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, &Hispanics in the Unite States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters. 1970+

Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Produced by Cambridge University Library, records cover almost a century of publications with some as old as 1906.  Includes works written about the Middle East and the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

The Index is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. It provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.  

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
(1910+) (Full text 1998+)  Covers cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, & political issues of relevant to the Black Studies discipline. Includes citations from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa & the Caribbean.  

International Medieval Bibliography Online
(1967+) Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide starting in 1967. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. 

A newly incorporated, non-profit research project to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), by creating online bibliographies.

(1908-1981) retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

LexisNexis Congressional Includes full text
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info. 

Women's Studies International (1972+)
(1972+) Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

Hours and Locations