Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Primary Sources Available Through ASU Library

African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902    This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers (primarily the Twentieth Century) A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.  Newspapers covered are: Atlanta Daily WorldBaltimore Afro AmericanChicago DefenderCleveland Call And PostLos Angeles SentinelNew York Amsterdam NewsNorfolk Journal And GuidePhiladelphia TribunePittsburg Courier

America: History and Life
(1954+) Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

American History in Video  American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.


American Indian History Online
A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.  

American West  Based on sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, a unique resource widely regarded as one of the finest collections of Western Americana in existence, this collection includes a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

Arizona and Southwestern Index
(mid 1800s+) Indexes the Arizona, Chicano, Visual Literacy, Univ. Archives, Labriola Center, Child Drama, and Special collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc. Includes items in Arizona Historical Foundation & Hayden Library


ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.


Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902
Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.


Civil War Newspapers
This database is from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES FULL-TEXT DATABASES. It contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day.


Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.


Declassified Documents Reference System - US
(1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc


Defining Gender Online: 1450 - 1910
This database brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, the following are currently available: Section I: Conduct and Politeness - Available; Section II: Domesticity and the Family - Available


Early English Books Online
(1475-1700) From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short- Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).


Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more

Empire Online
This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Literature and Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007

FMG on Demand  Films Media Group (FMG) is a comprehensive collection of nearly 5000 high-quality educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into 20 subject folders. Individual Learning Objects for each title subdivide the videos into smaller segments.


HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I-II (1857-1877)
(1857-1877) Indexes full-text of Harper's Weekly, probably the only consistent, comprehensive, weekly chronological record of world-wide events of the late 19th century. Covers front-line Civil War reports, the re-election of Lincoln, & Reconstruction.


Hayden Arizona Pioneer Biographies
(1800s) Selected Pioneer Biographies written or compiled by Senator Carl Hayden. Includes data for names listed for the current geographic area of Arizona in the 1860, 1864 & 1870 U.S. Censuses for the Arizona/New Mexico & Arizona territories.

Hayden Papers Database
This database enables fielded text searching of an electronic finding aid to the Senator Carl T. Hayden Papers, which are physically located in the Arizona Collection, Hayden Library, Arizona State University. Senator Hayden's papers comprise 815 boxes of archival materials produced between 1851 and 1979.


Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History
Presently, HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library(1939 – 2000), the Treaties and Agreements Library(1776- 2001), and the U.S. Supreme Court Library(1754 – 2004).


Historical Abstracts
(1954+) Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.

Legislative Insight - Proquest ( 1961 - 2012; 87th - 112th Congress)  Legislative insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available through researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws and realated bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and documents.


Lexis-Nexis Congressional
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

LexisNexis Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection   This is a unique source of American public documentation.  It is considered as one of the most important historical documents and as a key primary source in the study of American social, political, economic, and foreign policies. It includes the Congressional Record and its three predecessors. These four titles, the Congressional Record (1873-to date), the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873) cover all the concerns of the day,

LexisNexis Congressional Research Digital Collection  Contains background material used by Congress: CRS reports (from 1916 to present) and Committee Prints (from 1830 to present). Congressional committee prints are publications issued by congressional committees on topics related to their legislative or research activities. 1830+


Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-63, On-Line
(1957-63) Provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration. Contains 30,000 original documents, as well as five essays on the Macmillan Administration.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)  NCCO  is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections published during the nineteenth century. It provide acess to rare primary sources, and includes important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.


Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.


PeriodicalArchive Online
 (1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and Observer,1791 - 2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.


Shema Arizona (The Arizona Jewish Historical Society Oral History Project)
(1900+) Oral histories conducted by the Arizona Jewish Historical Society. Includes the transcripts, recordings, and photographs.


Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000
This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their rele
vance to the focus of the website.

Hours and Locations