Baer, Lee, and Mark A. Blais. Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health. New York: Humana Press, 2010. RC 472 .P78 H36 2010 SCIENCE REF
Johnson, Orval G. Tests and Measurements in Child Development, Handbook II. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1976. BF 722 .J64 1976 v.1 & v.2 REF
McDowell, Ian. Measuring health: A guide to rating scales and questionnaires. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. RA 408.5 .M38 2006 HAYDEN REF (also copies at Downtown, Poly, and West)
Hersen, Michel. Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 4 vols. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley & Sons, 2004. BF176 .C654 2004 HAYDEN REF
Test Critiques. Kansas City, MO: Test Corporation of America, 1984-1996. vols. 1-10. BF 176 .T418 HAYDEN REF
No longer being published, but one of the best sources of test reviews; similar to Mental Measurements Yearbook, but not limited to commercial tests.
Available in the Hayden Library Reference Collection located on the shelves on the east wall
(If you need directions, the staff at the Information Desk can point the way.)
NOTE: All of the titles on this list contain actual test instruments except the Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures.
American Psychological Association. Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. New York: Behavioral Pub. 1974 – 2008. BF 431 .G625 REF
This multi-volume set is an index to journal articles that talk about tests and measures. It provides a way to identify tests on a particular topic; there is a subject index in each volume. Validity and reliability information is given, if available. There is no guarantee that the test itself will be reproduced in full in the article, but in some cases it is. In any case it provides enough information to decide whether or not the test is worth pursuing, either by finding more research studies that have used the instrument or by contacting the author to request a copy.
Davis, Clive M. Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1998. HQ 60 .H36 1998 REF
Educational Testing Service. Tests in Microfiche. Princeton, N.J.: Educational Testing Service, 1975 – 2004.
LB 3051 .T449 REF
This is a microfiche collection of actual tests and measures. The fiche collection is downstairs, but the indexes (which are very thin yellow paperback volumes) are on the Test Table.
Fischer, Joel, Kevin Corcoran, and Kevin Corcoran. Measures for Clinical Practice and Research :A Sourcebook. 4th ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. BF 176 .C66 2007 REF
Johnson, Dale L. A Compendium of Psychosocial Measures. New York: Springer Pub., 2010. ONLINE
Maruish, Mark E. The use of Psychological Testing for Treatment Planning and Outcomes Assessment. 3rd ed. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2004. RC 473 .P79 U83 2004 v.2 & v.3 REF
Volume 1 (General Considerations) is online; Volumes 2 and 3 are located in Reference and contain some instruments.
Miller, Delbert C., and Neil J. Salkind. Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement. 6th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.; London: Sage Publications, 2002. H 62 .M44 2002 REF
Robinson, John P., Phillip R. Shaver, and Lawrence S. Wrightsman. Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes. Vol. 1. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1991. BF 698.4 .M38 1991 REF
Rubin, Rebecca B., Philip Palmgreen, and Howard E. Sypher. Communication Research Measures : A Sourcebook. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2009. ONLINE
Rush, A. John, et al. Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Pub., 2008. RC 473 .P78 A46 2008 REF
Touliatos, John, Barry F. Perlmutter, and Murray A. Straus. Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. 3 vols. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2001. HQ 728 .H267 2001 REF