Exercise and Wellness
A guide to research and resources in health promotion, healthy lifestyles, wellness, and sport science.
Need more help?
Places to Begin
- FastStats (CDC)Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on markets, industries, media, business, finance, politics, population, opinion, lifestyles and a wide variety of other areas of interest. Provides ready-made charts, graphs, and tables. Includes AI assistant: ResearchAI
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Access to U.S. federal, state, local, and international statistical publications, including tables, abstracts, and selected full text from authoritative government and private sources.
Local & State Health Statistics
- Arizona Department of Health ServicesVital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of Arizona.
- Maricopa County Department of Public HealthStatistics and reports on various health topics such as influenza, STDs, west nile virus, and general health reports related to Maricopa County.
- State Health FactsState health statistics from the Kaiser Foundation.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)"State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury".
- County Health RankingsCounty Health Rankings and statistics.
You can also find state level data in other national level resources found on this guide such as the CDC.
Global & Country Specific Health Statistics
- World Health Organization (WHO)WHO provides internationally focused health statistics including data on mortality, diseases, country statistics, and health systems.
- WHO Country-specific Health Information and StatisticsIncludes information on countries which are Members of the United Nations.
- World Bank Health StatsStatistics from the World Bank.
- Health Stats PortalThe World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics.
- OECD Health StatisticsData and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
More Health Statistics & Guidelines
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityAHRQ provides data on topics such as emergency department visits, health care quality, hospitalizations, and more.
- Cancer.govFind cancer data and statistics.
- CDC WonderSystem that allows you to search across a variety of public health reports and data systems by topic.
- Data 2010Data 2010 Data are included for all the objectives and subgroups identified within Healthy People 2010.
- HealthData.govFind Health Data on a variety of topics.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly ReportWeekly publication from the CDC that contains statistics.
- National Center for Health StatisticsPart of the CDC, NCHS provides datasets and statistics on a variety of health topics.
- National Healthcare Quality and Disparities ReportsAnnual reports; also includes State Snapshots.