American Indian Studies
Useful Websites
- Indian Country Todaynewspaper
- National Congress of American IndiansIncludes current policy issues and legislation.
- National Indian Law LibraryThe National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
Librarians Contact Information
Labriola Center , West and Tempe Campus
Alex Soto, Director 602-543-8261
Government Documents http://lib.asu.edu/govdocs Fletcher Library, West Campus
Brad Vogus Government Documents Librarian 602-543-5525
Law Library, Indian Law http://www.law.asu.edu/library
Reference Assistance 480-965-6144
Labriola Center Information
Labriola Center Homepage https://lib.asu.edu/labriola
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask an Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Recommended Research Databases
- American Indian History OnlineOnline encyclopedia, good for an overview of a topic, also primary sources, images, and maps
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaGeneral database for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations - link to full text through Get it ASU
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspaper articles, including Indian Country Today, very contemporary information, full text
- Google ScholarGeneral database to search for academic journal articles Be sure to search through the ASU Library home page so you can connect to the full text of many articles at no cost to you
- JSTORThis database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
What Are Databases and Why Do I Need Them
Video Credit: Yavapai College Libraries
Books and Articles
joyce.martin@asu.edu
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
