American Indian Studies
Program Description
Curator of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, Librarian, and member of the Department of Archives and Special Collections staff at Arizona State University - Joyce Martin will discuss methods of directly searching online catalogs and special collections indexes to locate Mojave archival material. Types of archival material include oral histories or other forms of audio content, photographs, manuscript collections, language material and historical documentation. The workshop will include demonstrations, instructions and hands on exercises on how to search the archives in a variety of university libraries and special collections in Arizona, California, and Nevada as well as a brief introduction into how to locate digital material on the National Archives web site.
Archives Websites
- Arizona Archive OnlineArizona Archives Online brings together detailed descriptions of archival material about the history of Arizona and other subjects. The archival collections described in AAO are held at institutions across the state including the State Universities, the State Library, historical societies, museums and other libraries and archives.
- Arizona State University Online CatalogThis webpage will help you find books, videos, and manuscript collections in the Arizona State University Libraries collection. These items could either be in the general collection or in one of the special collections and archives.
- Online Archive of CaliforniaThe OAC is a website that provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 150 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
- University of Nevada at Las VegasUNLV Special Collections houses unique, rare, and specialized research material that documents the history, culture and physical environment of the city of Las Vegas, the Southern Nevada region, the gaming industry, and the University of Nevada Las Vegas.The collections include books, pamphlets, posters, serials and periodicals, scrapbooks, archives and manuscripts, maps, architectural drawings, photographs, video and audio tapes.
- The National Archives and Records AdministrationThe Archival Research Catalog (ARC) is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.
- Native American Records at the National ArchivesThe National Archives holds information about American Indians who maintained their ties to Federally-recognized Tribes (1830-1970). Most records are arranged by tribe.
Subject Guide
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
