American Indian Studies
This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Librarian Contact Information
Additional Suggestions for Historical Information
Nearby Arizona Museums
ASU Library Photographs, Ephemera, and Posters
- American Indian IndexPart of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian inAlaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection.
- Special Materials IndexIndexes the Arizona, Chicano, VisualLiteracy, Univ. Archives, & Labriola Center collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc. Includes items in Arizona Historical Foundation & Hayden Library.
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Friday 9-5
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or archives@asu.edu
Or call Joyce Martin at 480-965-0298 or joyce.martin@asu.edu
Recommended Research Databases for Journal Articles
- American Indian History OnlineA unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
- Art Full TextIndexes articles on art from periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaCovers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
- Social Sciences Full TextCovers concepts, theories, and methodologies in all areas of the social sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.
Images Online
- ARTstoreThe ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design aswell as many other forms of visual culture.
- CAMIODigital versions of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. Documents approximately 90,000 works of art. The images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums, highlighting the creative output of world cultures, from prehistoric to contemporarytimes, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
- Colorado Plateau ArchiveNorthern Arizona University digital archive
- Images and Art WorkPage from Dennis Brunning's Art History LibGuide which points to online sources for art images
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online CatalogThe Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.
- National Archives Public Access SystemSearch across multiple National Archives resources at once, many images are available online
Find Books and Articles
Subject Guide
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
