Covers the structure, history and use of all the major and minor languages of the world. Includes analysis and use of individual languages and typological, historical, comparative and variationist approaches to language. Includes a list of languages of th
Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields--from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy--survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture. These articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools of thought, and issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory.
Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.
Includes three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of theMiddle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and electronic resources, including Middle English texts.
Regarded as the most authoritative & comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, & the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.