Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies

Catalogs

WorldCat: A searchable database containing millions of records from hundreds of libraries worldwide, covering books, journals, archival materials, music CDs, videos, and digital content.

Bibliothèque nationale de France: Catalogs of the National Library of France.

Cooperative Digital Resources for the Study of Religion (CDRI): Provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography. The repository is made of resources contributed by member libraries of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools, with the support of Henry Luce Foundation. 

ISTC (Incunabula Short-Title Catalogue): An international database of 15th Century printing, developed by the British Library. Covers about 29,000 titles.

Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz - Max-Planck-Institut: A research library specializing in Italian art from late antiquity to the present day.

The Warburg Institute, University of London: A research library specilizing in Western post-classical art history.

Background Research

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
Database of Latin Dictionaries: Modern, medieval, and early-modern dictionaries that enable cross-platform searchs for comaprison with contemporary or historic forms of English, French or German.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages, edited by Robert E. Bjork. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2010. Print edition.

Dictionary of Old English Corpus: (before 1100 AD) Contains full text of all surviving material in Old English, excluding some variant texts. Includes over 3000 different texts.

Europa Sacra Online:This database offers coverage of medieval Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates under obedience to Rome, prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs, more recent prosopographical works on members of religious orders and data on secular clergy supplied by nationally-based prosopographical projects.

Cambridge Histories Online: A collection of reference books, many related to the study of the Middle Ages and Renaissance periods, including History of Medieval History, Modern History, History of Literary Criticism (Middle Ages, Renaissance), History of Later Medieval Philosophy, History of Renaissance Philosophy, History of the Book, Economic History of Europe, History of the English Language, and Islamic Society and Civilization.

Literature Online: Includes fully-searchable texts, reference works, bibliographies, catalogues, & links to relevant websites. Includes American Poetry; English Bible; Shakespeare; English Drama & Poetry; Biographical Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia; Dictionary, etc.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.

Past Masters: One of the largest full-text humanities databases in the world. Includes definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence ranging from ancient Greece to the late 19th century.


Guides on the Web

Mediaevum.de (English version):  A private enterprise devoted to studies in medieval German and Latin culture. Its aim is to provide an extensive and reliable compilation of current information, sources and tools for medieval studies. Its main focus is on German and Latin literature of the High Middle Ages as well as that of the later Middle Ages and Humanism.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources: Attempts to be a comprehensive site for links to all things medieval.

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography: An annotated bibliography of texts, including links to digitized editions - from private letters, wills, and household accounts to literary works, philosophical treatises, chronicles, court proceedings, church records, and a host of other documents. Created by the Center for Medieval Studies, Fordham University.

Shadowed Realm: Medieval History Community: Shadowed Realm is dedicated to gathering and publishing information related to the Middle Ages and to provide a forum for the discussion of all medieval-related topics.

WESS Medieval & Renaissance Studies Website and Guide: WESS Medieval and Renaissance Web provides access to scholarly resources for Western Middle Ages and the Renaissance.  This is an excellent and comprehensive site put together by Tom Izbicki for the WESS section of the Assoc. of College & Research Libraries.  Well worth a visit.

Center for Research Libraries Topic Guide: ASU Library is a member of CRL, so anyone affiliated with ASU can borrow materials from this collection.


Old English Newsletter: Since 1967, OEN has been a source for news, announcements, and information on the world of Anglo-Saxon studies. Its annual Bibliography and Year’s Work in Old English Studies are used by thousands of scholars worldwide.

 

Hours and Locations