Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies

Article Databases

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies (International Medieval Bibliography Online, 1967+): Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index: Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.


Humanities and Social Sciences Databases (General)

Academic Search Premier: A big collection of article and magazine databases (check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals).

Google Scholar via ASU: Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Humanities Full Text (2/1984+): Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

JSTOR:Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Periodical Archives Online (1770-1995): Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

Women's Studies International (1972+):Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

Dissertations and Theses (1861+): Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.


The Arts

Art Full Text (9/1984+) Indexes articles on art from periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations. For coverage before 9/1984, use Art Retrospective

Grove Art Online (1998+) Comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics.

Grove Music Online Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2d edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2d edition; 3 volumes).

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History: A guide to scholarly literature in the field of art and architectural history, covering major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources.


History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text: Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes full-text articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada. (1954+)


Literary Studies

MLA Bibliography (1963+) Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.


Philosophy

Philosopher's Index (1940+) Indexes books & journals of philosophy & related inter-disciplinary fields. Covers aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, & metaphysics; & material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion, & science.


Religious Studies

ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS (ATLAS Full Text Plus 1949-)
(1949+) American Theological Association Database covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations from journals, essays, and book reviews.

Index Islamicus The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Index to Jewish Periodicals The Index is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. It provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

Hours and Locations