Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies

E-book Packages

E-Book Tilte Lookup: Search all our e-book collections.


ACLS Humanities Ebook Project: A collaborative project managed by the American Council of Learned Societies. Includes digitized and born-digital books produced by dozens of scholarly publishers, university presses, and learned societies such as the Renaissance Society of America.

Early English Books Online: From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance: A non-profit research project dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources. Includes e-books collections, such as The Other Voice in Early Modern Europe: The Toronto Series which contains works by continental European women authors writing between 1400 and 1700.
Coverage: Publication years 1842+; covers material on the Middle Ages (400-1500) and the Renaissance (1300-1700).

Loeb Classical Library: The digital Loeb Classical Library provides electronic access to the classic series of Greek and Latin literature. The database includes the complete print series and covers all literary, historical, philosophical, medical, and religious texts in Greek and Latin, with English translation. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.

Parker Library on the Web: An interactive, web-based workspace created by Cambridge Corpus Christi College and Stanford University, designed to support research and teaching associated with the manuscripts in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. The database provides high-quality images of manuscripts, as well as bibliographic information and summaries of manuscript contents. Works in a variety of languages: Old and Middle English, French, Latin, Greek, and Arabic.

Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL): A database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research of Calvin Theological Seminary.


General Collections

Cambrigde Histories Online: Provides full text online access to the complete volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Coverage:

De Gruyter Online: Includes hundreds of e-books in Medieval Studies.

E-Books on EBSCO: Provides full-text books from many of the world's leading commercial publishers and university presses. Includes a wide range of scholarly, reference, and professional titles. Also includes a large number of public domain titles. Subjects covered by netLibrary include Arts & Entertainment; Business & Economy; Computer & Internet; Education; Health; History; Government & Law; Recreation & Sports; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences; Society & Culture.

Ebrary: Includes over 70,000 full-text books, journals, and maps covering five main subject areas.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online: English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.

HathiTrust Digital Library: A collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. It is an emerging repository which has collection spans over several centuries, and in hundreds of languages.

MyiLibrary: Contains full-text books, journals, reports and other documents published by major publishers and inter-governmental/non-governmental organisations. Searches can be made across many e-books or within a particular e-book.

The Online Books Page: Archives: A Megasite for online books. This specific page lists other online book sites in English, foreign languages and by subject.

Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL): A database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research of Calvin Theological Seminary.


Guide to Finding Interesting Public Domain works Online: The Public Domain Review guide.

Hours and Locations