Skip to main content
Login to LibApps

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies

Keep Current

Email Alerts

You can sign up for email notification with any individual journal title (search for a link or button for "Alerts"), or you can sign up for several Table of Contents email alerts on JournalTOCs

Google Scholar offers email alerts for new studies of specific scholars or on specific topics (look for the "create alert" link).  

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online: Sign up for free account to personalize your alerts.

BooksinPrint: Open a BIP Alert Account (upper tool bar) to run a monthly search on newly released titles that match your search criteria.

Publish or Perish

Research Funding Opportunities at ASU

COS Funding Opportunities

H-Net Call for Paper Announcements

Call for Papers Search Engine (U Penn English Department)

Writing and Publishing

Tonette S. Rocco and Tim Hatcher, eds. The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2011. (E-Book)

Rich Furman. Practical Tips for Publishing Scholarly Articles: Writing and Publishing in the Helping Professions. Chicago: Lyceum Books, 2007. (Print Book)

Book Reviews

Books in Print: The only complete record of in-print and forthcoming books published and distributed in the U.S. (over 1.2 million books). 

Book Review Index Plus (1965+): A comprehensive online guide to book reviews. Limit your search to Document Type: Book Review.

Humanities Full Text: Narrow the results by Document Type: Book Review.

Book Digest Retrospective (1905-1982)Backfiles of H.W. Wilson’s Book Review Digest. 

JSTOR: Use Advanced Search: narrow down by Item Type: Review.

ProQuest: Use Advanced Search; under Search Options, select Review as Document Type.

Research Tools: Databases, Library Catalogs


BooksinprintProvides the only complete record of in-print and forthcoming books published and distributed in the U.S. which are available to the general public or trade for purchase. Includes reviews for some books taken from various book review sources.

SciVal Expets: Offers access to the research performance of thousands of research institutions and hundreds of nations worldwide. SciVal enables the user to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyze research trends.

SciVal Funding: Covers grants from Australia, Canada, the European Commission, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. With several thousand international sponsors, providing thousands of active opportunities, there are many funding opportunities for which researchers both inside and outside of these countries are eligible.

Scopus: An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.

Ulrich's WebDatabase of in-depth information about more than 300,000 periodicals/serials of all types: scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, magazines, newsletters and newspapers. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, and reviews written by librarians.

Web of Knowledge: A research platform including tools for finding, analyzing and managing information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The major research resources available through the platform include: ISI Highly Cited Personal registration at the site allows users to receive citation alerts as well as access EndNote Web, a bibliographic management software; Journal Citation Reports; BIOSIS Previews; Web of Science (including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index).

Library Catalogs

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch): Covers millions of records from thousands of libraries around the world, including books, journals, archival materials, music CDs, and videos as well as many kinds of digital content. Expands your search beyond ASU Library.

Center for Research Libraries: Materials are available via InterLibrary Loan to ASU affiliates. 

KVK: Covers 500 million records from all over Europe, Australia, and the US.

Copac: Cover 36 million records for UK and Scottish research libraries, including the British Library. 

WorldCat Lists and Bibliographies: Create lists and bibliographies to share with your students and colleagues. See tutorial.

Academic Social Networks A platform for academics to share research papers and follow colleagues' work.

EthicShare: A research and collaboration website. Features scholarly articles, books, archival and digital objects, popular press literature, dissertations, and commission reports, as well as blogs and other sources.

Mendeley: A free reference manager and academic social network for collaboration.

MLA Commons: Share, collaborate, and learn. 

Library Services

Resources at ASU Library 

Services for Faculty: Get library materials for your research and courses.

The Library Channel: Multimedia (audio podcasts, videos) highlighting news, events, exhibits, services and resources of the ASU Library. Subscribe here.

Library Guides for Faculty

Faculty Research Support

Graduate Students

Scholarly Communication: publishing, open access, copyright, author rights, and digital archiving.

Linking Library Resources: prepare durable or persistent hyperlinks to online resources licensed by the ASU Library.

Citation Research: find citation counts for your publications and journal rankings.

Citation Styles: plagiarism, different citation styles with examples, RefWorks, tutorials and other resource.

RefWorks: importing from databases, tutorials, and workshop schedules.

Primary Sources: provides access and links to primary sources available through ASU Library or freely on the Internet.

For Online Instructors: copyright issues and linking to Blackboard.

Hours and Locations