Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Primary Sources

This guide will provide access and links to the substantial and ever-growing wealth of primary sources available through ASU Library or freely-accessible through the Internet

ASU Library Primary Sources - Western Europe

Early English Books Online (1475-1700) From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short- Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).


Eighteenth Century Collections Online Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more

Empire Online This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Literature and Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. The collection is a comprehensive survey of the politics following the independence of India until the death of India's first prime-minister.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-63, On-Line (1957-63) Provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration. Contains 30,000 original documents, as well as five essays on the Macmillan Administration.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)  NCCO  is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections published during the nineteenth century. It provide acess to rare primary sources, and includes important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.

State Papers Online, 1509 - 1714  State Papers Online is a collection of English government documents originating from the 16th and 17th centuries featuring the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch, as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. The collection includes: Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic, Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council, Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic, Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council

Retrospective Periodical Indexes

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective  Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
(1910+) (Full text 1998+)  Covers cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, & political issues of relevant to the Black Studies discipline. Includes citations from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa & the Caribbean. 

Legal Periodicals Petrospective  Retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile 1787 - 1922   (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period. ( Primarily U.S. Periodicals and resources)

Periodicals Index Online, 1665 - 1995 An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in thehumanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed

Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.

ASU Library Primary Sources - General

Primary Source Sites available through the ASU Library

Internet Primary Source Sites Relating to History


 

Academic Video Online Premier: History brings together key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage.  Areas of focus include Trade and Exploration, The American Revolutionary Era, The American Civil War, Imperialism and Colonialism, World War I, The Jazz Age, The Post-World War II Era, The Sixties, Women’s History, Black History, and International Newsreels.

AP Digital Photo Archive:  Contains current and historic photographs drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. The archive includes contemporary news images, historical figures, celebrities, and images drawn from key events of the 19th and 20th centuries.

African History and Culture, 1540-1921:   Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, African History and Culture, 1540-1921, is a comprehensive collection of fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera covering the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. All areas of Africa and important adjacent regions are covered.

 ArchiveFinder  Archive Finder includes ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland. It is a current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and United Kingdom. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS), along with the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK & Ireland). The archival material noted in this collection ranges from pre-historic to modern. 

ARTstor Digital Library The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

 Center for Research Libraries and  Center for Research Libraries Digital Collections: CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.    CRL is increasingly making available Digital Collections available to ASU through its membership.  Current collections include African Newspapers; Brazilian Government Documents; Chinese Pamphlets: the early period of the People's Republic of China; Digital South Asia Library; Dziennik Zwiazkowy: Chicago's oldest Polish-language newspaper; Latin American NewspapersPamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848; Slavery and manumission in Timbuktu

Defining Gender Online: 1450 - 1910 This database brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, the following are currently available: Section I: Conduct and Politeness - Available; Section II: Domesticity and the Family - Available

Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History Presently, HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library(1939 – 2000), the Treaties and Agreements Library(1776- 2001), and the U.S. Supreme Court Library(1754 – 2004).

Historical Abstracts> (1954+) Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.

Historical Documents (USA), 1972+Published annually since 1972 each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

ASU Library Primary Sources - US History

 American West  Based on sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, a unique resource widely regarded as one of the finest collections of Western Americana in existence, this collection includes a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

 American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971  This database includes primary sources which focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century. The two major collections included are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.


American Indian History Online A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.

Archive of Americana( Historical Imprints)  The Archive of Americana, Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker series, offers more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. The archives feature extensive indexing and full bibliographic information, together illuminating more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture and daily life. Unique and authoritative, these fully searchable products enable researchers to browse and explore America’s past in unprecedented ways.

Black Studies Center  Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and reference books.  It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, includingThe Schomburg Studies on the Black ExperienceIndex to Black Periodicals Full TextBlack Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.


Civil War Collection We have access to Part I-IV of Civil War Collection from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES.

  • Part I: A Newspaper Perspective: Contains the full text of major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
  • Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective: Provides an in-depth look at the day-to-day actions of the troops themselves primarily in the form of regimental histories.
  • Part III: The Generals’ Perspective: These volumes allow a look into the way the battles within the war were fought. Here the emphasis is on strategies and tactics as planned and executed by the commanding officers, with a longer-term view as opposed to daily concerns.
  • Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective: This collection consists of seven newspapers published in Indiana between 1855 and 1869. Thus, it provides pre-and post-Civil War information in addition to coverage of the war itself.

Declassified Documents Reference System - US (1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc

Digital Sanborn Maps - Arizona: Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Arizona) provides digital access to maps of towns and cities in Arizona.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690 - 1876:   Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.

Godey's Lady's Book  This is a full text collection  of the premier 19th Century U. S.  woman’s magazine, Parts I-IX 1830-1898.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I-II (1857-1877) (1857-1877) Indexes full-text of Harper's Weekly, probably the only consistent, comprehensive, weekly chronological record of world-wide events of the late 19th century. Covers front-line Civil War reports, the re-election of Lincoln, & Reconstruction.

ProQuest Congressional Publications, 1789+ U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Serial Set; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

Proquest Executive Documents  Available as part of ProQuest Congressional Publications, the Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932 targets the entire range of executive branch publications.  Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932 includes all of the executive branch titles listed in the 1909 Checklist that were not included in the U.S. Serial Set, as well as additional titles chosen from the period, 1910 to 1932.

Shema Arizona (The Arizona Jewish Historical Society Oral History Project)

(1900+) Oral histories conducted by the Arizona Jewish Historical Society. Includes the transcripts, recordings, and photographs.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974   This database documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Through letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage of the times, the collection tells the story of the Sixties.

Social Explorer:  Social Explorer provides access to census demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present. Users can create maps and reports to visualize and analyze demography and social change throughout history. Datasets are available at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. A collection of interactive demographic maps can be viewed, queried, and exported as images or PowerPoint presentations.

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000 This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website.


 

 

Hours and Locations