Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Primary Sources

This guide will provide access and links to the substantial and ever-growing wealth of primary sources available through ASU Library or freely-accessible through the Internet

Arizona and the Southwest

Arizona Archives Online  Arizona Archives Online was created as a joint project between Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Arizona. The initial goal is to make finding aids for archival collections at each university accessible and searchable through a single web site. Finding aids from other archival repositories in Arizona will be added in the future, so that eventually researchers can view and search finding aids for nearly all of the archival collections located in Arizona. 

Arizona Memory Project  The Arizona Memory Project is an online effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions. This initiative provides the opportunity to view some of the best examples of government documents, photographs, maps, and objects that chronicle Arizona's past and present.

Arizona Sanborn Maps: Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 providing digital access to Sanborn Insurance maps of towns and cities in Arizona.

ASU History Subject Guide  Basic tools for finding ASU history materials


Colorado Plateau: Canyons, cultures and environmental change "This website provides an introduction to the environmental history of the Colorado Plateau. It summarizes a vast body of research from multiple disciplines"

Hayden Arizona Pioneer Biographies  (1800s) Selected Pioneer Biographies written or compiled by Senator Carl Hayden. Includes data for names listed for the current geographic area of Arizona in the 1860, 1864 & 1870 U.S. Censuses for the Arizona/New Mexico & Arizona territories.

Hayden Papers Database  This database enables fielded text searching of an electronic finding aid to the Senator Carl T. Hayden Papers, which are physically located in the Arizona Collection, Hayden Library, Arizona State University. Senator Hayden's papers comprise 815 boxes of archival materials produced between 1851 and 1979.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922;   Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985

Video Histories of Arizona Jewish Residents: “The collection of Video Histories of Arizona Jewish Residents consists of short video interviews of notable Jewish residents in the Greater Phoenix area. Important subjects such as Anti-semitism, family life, business, religion, and the vitality of the Phoenix Jewish community are discussed in the interviews. Subjects share memories which span from Arizona's admittance to the Union up until the collection's creation in 2008-2009. This collection was produced by the Arizona Jewish Historical Society with funding from the Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Phoenix. Additional funds were provided by the Jewish Federation of Greater Phoenix. Contributed by Arizona Jewish Historical Society.”

 

 

The American West

American West  Based on sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, a unique resource widely regarded as one of the finest collections of Western Americana in existence, this collection includes a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

Archives of The West: The resources page from the website "New Perspectives on The West". This site is an outgrowth of the Ken Burns' PBS special, The West.

Arizona Archives Online An online description to archival materials. Includes finding aids from the various special collections of Arizona State University, University of Arizona and Northern Arizona University


Colorado Plateau: Canyons, cultures and environmental change "This website provides an introduction to the environmental history of the Colorado Plateau. It summarizes a vast body of research from multiple disciplines"

Mountain Men and the Fur Trade: "These documents are accounts of the Rocky Mountain fur trade during the first half of the 19th century. Most of these are either primary or secondary historical sources, and have been transcribed from printed or manuscript form."

 Mountain West Digital Library  The Mountain West Digital Library is a central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region providing free access to 300,000 resources in over 350 collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and other parts of the U.S. West.


Online Archive of California. An excellent site that provides access to several important California collections covering among other topics the Free Speech Movement, Japanese-American Relocation, and California oral histories.

Portal to Texas History    The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials.   From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.

Regional Oral History Office - UC-Berkeley  As a division of The Bancroft Library, the Regional Oral History Office preserves the history of the San Francisco Bay Area, California, and the Western United States. By conducting carefully researched, tape-recorded, and transcribed interviews, ROHO creates archival oral histories intended for the widest possible use.

Rocky Mountain Online Archive:    The Rocky Mountain Online Archive is your source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming. Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at twenty-seven different repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located.The Rocky Mountain Online archive is managed by University Libraries at the University of New Mexico.

Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846 - 1869 Builds upon the overland trail diaries and letters found in the rich collections of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections, Lee Library, Brigham Young University; Special Collections, Marriott Library, University of Utah; and Special Collections, Merrill Library, Utah State University. The years 1846-1869 are significant, representing the Mormon exodus from Nauvoo, Illinois, the joining of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific railroads at Promontory Point, Utah, and the ending of the overland pioneer era.


WestWeb: "WestWeb is a topically-organized website about the study of the American West..."


Yahoo - U. S. History - 19th Century - American West
The first place to start for a search of Internet sites for U. S. History. Particularly useful for tracking down sites with primary sources. Its hierarchical arrangement is as close to a library as one gets on the web.

Newspapers of the American West

 

Arizona Republic    Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see CD-News: Arizona Republic  January 1999 to present

 CD News: Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and Arizona Business Gazette (ASU Library workstations only)  (1987 to one month ago or more) Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette). Date Range: 1987 to one month ago or more. For online access to 1999-current Arizona Republ ic articles see Arizona Republic (Access World News).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985

Texas Digital Newspaper Program  A large selection of nineteenth and twentieth century Texas Newspapers.  Not the easiest database to navigate but well-worthwhile if researching Texas history.  Also accessible through the Portal to Texas History.

Utah Digital Newspapers:  The Utah Digital Newspapers (UDN) program has been operating at the University of Utah's J. Willard Marriott Library since 2002. UDN is recognized as one of the leaders in newspaper digitization in the United States, especially within the public sector. Our collection holds over 1,000,000 pages of historic Utah newspapers and it grows monthly. Its newspapers can be browsed by issue or searched by keywords, article titles, weddings, deaths, and births.

Hours and Locations