Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Primary Sources

This guide will provide access and links to the substantial and ever-growing wealth of primary sources available through ASU Library or freely-accessible through the Internet

ASU Primary Source Resources

African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902    This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.

Black Drama The Black Drama contains around 1000 plays by more than 170 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Black Short Fiction Black Short Fiction contains approximately 4370 stories and folktales by 272 African, African American, and Caribbean authors. It includes short stories published from the mid-1900s to the present, as well as fables, folktales and previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by many authors.

Black Studies Center (1827+) Black Studies Center combines several invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies (1970-2004), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940). Resources are fully cross-searchable and include scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and supporting materials.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I-II (1857-1877) (1857-1877) Indexes full-text of Harper's Weekly, probably the only consistent, comprehensive, weekly chronological record of world-wide events of the late 19th century. Covers front-line Civil War reports, the re-election of Lincoln, & Reconstruction.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1910+) (Full text 1998+) Covers cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, & political issues of relevant to the Black Studies discipline. Includes citations from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa & the Caribbean.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.
.

African and African-American Sources

African American History (Historical Text Archive)
A variety of sources are listed here, including: texts of important books and documents; biographical sketches of historical figures; bibliographies; mailing lists; bulletin boards; and many links to other internet sources.


African American History - About.com - Primary Text Index Writings and documents by and about African-Americans

Historical African American Newspapers Online:  This LibGuide produced by Elizabeth Clarke of Marist College provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.

African-American Pamphlet Collection ( Library of Congress) This comprises the American Memory online collection of pamphlets entitled: From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909.   The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches.  Anotrher related American Memory pamphlet collection is  African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907.

Africans in America
This is an excellent site for resources and primary source materials. It is divided into four segments: The Terrible Transformation, 1450 - 1750; Revolution, 1750 - 1805; Brotherly Love, 1791 - 1831; and Judgment Day, 1831 - 1865

Anti-Slavery Literature Project  The goal of the Antislavery Literature Project is to increase public access to a body of literature crucial to understanding African American experience, US and hemispheric histories of slavery, and early human rights philosophies. These multilingual collections contribute to an educational consciousness of the role of many antislavery writers in creating contemporary concepts of freedom.

The Crisis, 1910 - 1922  Founded in 1910 as the house magazine of the NAACP and edited by W. E. B. Du Bois, The Crisis quickly became the most important voice of the African-American struggle for cultural identity and civic justice in the U.S.

The Ebony Archives  Ebony has partnered with Google to offer their archive for free browsing. Each issue appears just as it did at its original time of publication, complete with period advertisements.  Use the Search box in the Ebony issue facsimile.

 

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909

Presents 397 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church
Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.


American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves, most born in the last years of the slave regime or during the Civil War, provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms. This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of these narratives, and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79).


African-American Women: Online Archival Collections
A select collection of primary source materials from the Special Collections Department at Duke University.

Black Studies Center (Access through ASU Library)  (1827+) Black Studies Center combines several invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies (1970-2004), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940). Resources are fully cross-searchable and include scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and supporting materials.

Freedman's Bureau Online  Records and resources related to The Freedmen's Bureau ( officially: The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands


Malcolm X: A Research Site This is a comprehensive website on the life and legacy of Malcolm X.

"The Negro Motorist/Traveler Green Book", 1936 - 1967 Digital facsimiles of the preeminent travel resource for Africans-Americans as they navigated around America's segregationist policies and Jim Crow laws
 

Hours and Locations