American Indian Histories and Cultures(ASU access only) American Indian Histories and Cultures contains primary source material such as manuscripts, maps, journals, photographs and drawings which examine the interaction between American Indians and Europeans in the Americans through the late 20th century.
American Indian History Online (ASU access only) A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 (ASU access only ): This database includes primary sources which focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century. The two major collections included are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
America's Historical Imprints, Indian Affairs (ASU access only): This is the Indian Affairs page for the Archive of Americana database. The Archive of Americana, Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker series, offers more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. The archives feature extensive indexing and full bibliographic information, together illuminating more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture and daily life.
The Avalon Project: Native American Treaties Selected digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Reports (1880 - 1963, Boston Public Library) The Bureau of Ethnology (later the Bureau of American Ethnology) was established in 1879 to engage in an anthropological study of the native peoples of the United States.
Ethnic News Watch (ASU access only) Ethnic NewsWatch includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native American.
Internet Sacred Texts Archive - Native American Religions: "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language."
McBeth Sisters Papers: Missionary Teachers to the Nez Perce: Personal letters, documents and journals of two missionary sisters to the Nez Perce
National Indian Law Library The NILL of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
North American Indian Drama (ASU access only) North American Indian Drama brings together the full text of plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century. Many of the plays are previously unpublished or hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible.
North American Indian Thought and Culture(ASU access only) This database is a continuing project to compile biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs. The database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. When complete North American Indian Thought and Culture will include 123,000 pages of text and images.
Proquest Congressional, 1789+:(ASU access only) It is often difficult to study US Native American history for the 19th and 20th Centuries without referring to congressional and executive documents. U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Serial Set; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.