- Kenkyusha's New English-Japanese Dictionary
Shigeru Takebayashi, ed. 6th ed. Tokyo: Kenkyusha, 2002.
A standard, comprehensive English-Japanese dictionary. The University Libraries system has older editions. Although the older editions are still useful, it is recommendable to consult with the latest edition.
- Modern Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary = Saishin Kan-Ei Jiten
Nelson, Andrew Nathaniel. 2nd rev. ed. Rutland, VT.: C.E. Tuttle, .
Arrangement with radicals divided further by the numbers of strokes. Includes "on-kun" index arranged alphabetically.
- Oxford-Duden Pictorial English-Japanese Dictionary
Pheby, John, and Miyamoto, Akito, eds. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1983.
This dictionary is based on the Oxford-Duden Pictorial German-English Dictionary, 1980. Black/white pictures are detailed and printing is clear. Well indexed for every object in illustrations. Because information can be conveyed more readily and clearly by pictures than definitions and explanations alone, this pictorial dictionary is useful for the students of English and Japanese languages.
- Fukutake Oxford Illustrated English-Japanese Dictionary = Okkusufodo Kara Ei-Wa Daijiten
8 vols. Tokyo: Fukutake Shoten, 1982.
The basis of this dictionary is the New Oxford Illustrated Dictionary published in 1978. It has 4000 illustrations and 70,000 words. It could be used as an encyclopedia. User's guide is given in Japanese.
- Historical and Geographical Dictionary of Japan
Papinot, Edmond. 2 vols. New York: F. Ungar Pub., 1964.
Comprehensive, with brief entries concerning people, places, and events.
- Cultural Dictionary of Japan = Wa-Ei Nihon Bunka Jiten
Yamaguchi, Momoo and Kojima, Setsuko, eds. Tokyo: Japan Times, 1979.
Transliterated terms are arranged under topical headings, with brief definitions and Japanese rendering. There is an alphabetical index to all terms included.
- Encyclopedia of Asian History
Embree, Ainslie T., ed. 4 vols. New York: Scribner, 1988.
Prepared under the auspices of the Asia Society, this set includes articles on Japanese history.
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
10 vols. Tokyo: Kodansha, 1983.
This publication has detailed, scholarly coverage of all aspects of Japanese history, society and culture. It is well illustrated and features bibliographical notes. Vol. 9 is the subject index.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
18 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1968-1979.
Includes economic, organizational, political, rural, and urban sociology; the sociologies of knowledge, law, religion, and medicine; human ecology; history of social thought; sociometry and other small group research; and survey research.