Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Family History

This is a guide to a variety of print and online resources useful to the study of family history and genealogy.

Arizona Resources

Use these databases to locate information about Arizona and the Southwest.

Arizona and Southwestern Index
Coverage is miid 1800s to present. Indexes the Arizona, Chicano, Visual Literacy, Univ. Archives, Labriola Center, Child Drama, and Special collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc. Includes items in Arizona Historical Foundation & Hayden Library

Digital Sanborn Maps Arizona
Provides digital access to maps of towns and cities in Arizona.

Hayden Arizona Pioneer Biographies
Selected Pioneer Biographies written or compiled by Senator Carl Hayden. Includes data for names listed for the current geographic area of Arizona in the 1860, 1864 & 1870 U.S. Censuses for the Arizona/New Mexico & Arizona territories.

Mexican American Index
Part of the Chicano Research Collection. With coverage from the 1900s it mainly contains materials and photographs from the 20th century, and covers the Mexican American experience in the U.S.

 

Databases for Articles & Other Resources

There are many options for finding articles related to a family, a time period, or a place. Start your search using the resources below. Off campus access requires ASURITE log in.

America: History and Life
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time. This is a good source for finding background articles on a place or time period.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Chicano Database
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants.

Dictionary of American Family Names  
Contains more than 70,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, giving their comparative frequencies, linguistic and historical explanations, selected associated forenames, and occasional genealogical notes. It explains the meanings of the family names for more than 90 percent of the U.S. population. ALSO: Print edition: Polytechnic Library Reference and West Stacks

Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture using thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Empire Online
This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience:

 

Hours and Locations