Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Family History

This is a guide to a variety of print and online resources useful to the study of family history and genealogy.

Searching Newspapers

Local and national newspapers can be a good source of information about families and their history including obituaries. the ASU Library has access to historical issues of many newspapers.

US Newspapers

Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1984
Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902.

The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975
Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.

Civil War Newspapers
Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and The Richmond Enquirer published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.

Hartford Courant 1764 - 1991
Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.

Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1993
Coverage is from Dec. 4, 1881 - Dec. 31, 1985 and the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.

The New York Times 1851-2013

19th Century Masterfile
(1106-1930)  Comprehensive database aggregating vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, art work and images.

The Washington Post 1877 - 2000 
Cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format of The Washington Post from Dec 12, 1877-Dec 31, 1990. Updated annually.

 

International Newspapers

British Newspaper Archive
Free online newspaper archive containing selected years of full-text coverage within the 19th and 20th century in the following British publications: Daily News, News of the World, The Manchester Guardian, Penny Illustrated and Weekly Dispatch. 

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 1899-1900
A directory of publications, personal names, issuing bodies and subjects for newspaper and periodical articles published in England from 1800-1900.

Hours and Locations