U.S. Politics and Elections

Library guide covering resources for Politics and Elections with an emphasis on the United States

U.S. Politics and Government

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Coverage: 1976+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Finding tool for U.S. federal government publications from the Government Publishing Office (GPO). Cites books, reports, studies, serials, maps, & other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine,public health, etc. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. GPO is the authoritative national source for descriptive and subject cataloging for Federal Government documents.
ProQuest Congressional: Legislative & Executive Publications

Find U.S. federal bills, statutes, committee hearings and reports, voting records, executive branch documents, and executive orders.

Includes full-text access to legislative histories, the Congressional Record, CRS Reports, committee publications, House and Senate documents, and the U.S. Serial Set Maps Digital Collection. Also features executive materials from the 1909 Checklist, including Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, with cross-search access to related newspaper content from ProQuest.
CQ Press Library

Provides analysis of political and social policies, country profiles, Congress members, Supreme Court decisions, and statistical data on American politics and current affairs since 1991.

Newspapers

Access World News

Full-text content from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and business magazines, providing diverse viewpoints on local and global issues.
Arizona Republic (ProQuest)

Find articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic since 1999, excluding images and ads.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Arizona Republican

Full-text access to a historical newspaper from Phoenix, Arizona, that became the "Arizona Republic," covering news, politics, business, and culture from 1890 to 1922.
The New York Times

Full access to news, opinion, multimedia, and archives from a major U.S. newspaper, including mobile apps and special features provided through ASU Single Sign-On (SSO).
ASU Library provides current students, staff, and faculty with complimentary access to The New York Times, including News, Cooking, and Wirecutter.
Access is provided through ASU Single Sign-On (SSO).
- Eligible users must sign in with their ASURITE@asu.edu email address to access features such as mobile apps, NYT Cooking, and TimesMachine (PDF scans of issues from 1851–2002).
  - Learn how to activate access and troubleshoot issues.
Notes:
- Articles from 1923–1980 are limited to five per user per day.
- For searchable full-text historical coverage (1851–2021), use ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- The Athletic, a separate sports journalism platform owned by The New York Times, requires a separate group pass activation and is also available to current ASU students, staff, and faculty.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times

Full-text access to the historical newspaper archives, covering local, national, and international news, politics, business, and culture from 1851 to 2021.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)

Find articles and editorials from the Los Angeles Times since Dec 1996, excluding images and ads.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel

Historical Black newspaper from Los Angeles, CA, covering first-hand accounts and events in politics and society from 1934 to 2010.
Chicago Tribune (Proquest)

Indexes issues from 1985 to present, covering major news and providing bibliographic data on companies, people, and products.