LibGuides: Art History: Databases and Archives

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary periodical index which provides access to popular press magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals from nearly every academic discipline. Includes content from international publishers, a growing collection of open access journals, and a large historic collection of video recordings from the Associated Press.
CFile Daily This link opens in a new window
Cfile Foundation was founded in 2013 to provide an expanded ceramic field— art, design, architecture and technology—with two things: a knowledge center where the new paradigms shaping our future (and that of other arts) can be addressed, published and broadcast; and a virtual place where a new global, inter-disciplinary community can grow, combine its resources and serve the field during a time of unparalleled flux. In essence we set out to make a ceramic GPS device that would guide the field to its future.
Access Information: This database is available only on campus. Off-campus access is unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
De Gruyter Online This link opens in a new window
An integrated comprehensive research portal for access to primary sources, text collections, reference works, and bibliographies across multiple disciplines.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1907-1984
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.
Alternate titles: Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retro
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2/1984+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications,language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 9/1984+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Indexes articles on art from periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1929-1984
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Indexes articles on artfrom periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1974+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Indexes journals, monographs, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, & other publications related to 19-20th century art. Covers architecture, collecting, drawing, education, folk art, graphic design, museums & galleries, painting, photography, etc.
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - 2007
Covers European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
"The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) at www.csa.com."
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1973+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management
Alternate titles: DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index

Bloomsbury Art Markets This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive guide to art galleries, auction houses, art fairs, and agents from multiple national and historical contexts. This digital resource is designed to serve the expanding research areas of art market studies, art historiography and provenance research.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
A dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Peer-reviewed content includes major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world. Includes the Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive, Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library.
Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method This link opens in a new window
A digital resource dedicated to historiography and the examination of historical theory and methods using a global approach, featuring scholarship in the form of exclusive articles contributed by historians from many different countries.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
IBA provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history. It covers core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1998+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 14
A gateway resource that includes: Grove Art Online, a reference for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Covers information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics.
Alternate titles: Grove Art Online
Oxford Bibliographies: Art History This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History is a guide to scholarly literature in the field of art and architectural history, covering major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources.
Oxford Bibliographies: Classics This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and authoritative guide to Classical Studies, providing access to essential primary sources and electronic resources.

Bayeux Tapestry Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
The Bayeux Tapestry Digital Edition presents all of the Bayeux Tapestry in a scrolling format and includes scholarly annotations keyed to relevant sections.
Kanopy: Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
Since 1984, the Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest award-winning early cinema, foreign cinema and Hollywood films from around the world. This collection includes 590 films, presented uncut, as its maker intended it to be seen.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Global digitized primary source collections from the long nineteenth century, including rare monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and more in Western and non-Western languages, curated by international experts.
Alternate titles: Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 4: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 6: Photography: The World Through the Lens, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 7: Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 8: Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women: Transnational Networks, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 5: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1960 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. The core of the collection are the comics and graphic novels themselves but accompanied by a collection of works about comics and graphic novels. Coverage is primarily North America from the 1960's to now. Valuable for students of the arts and culture.
Web Gallery of Art This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 12th to the mid-19th centuries (1100-1850)
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Free virtual IMAGE museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.
WindowsWear (Free Registration required) This link opens in a new window
Note: All students and faculty can create their accounts with their ASU email here.
Please upload your student projects throughout the year to be eligible for WindowsWear's Student Awards www.windowswear.com/studentawards and Mentorship Program www.windowswear.com/mentorship.

WindowsWear is a current and archival collection of retail and visual displays dating back to 1931. The collection provides retailers, designers, brands and creative professionals with photos for competitive research, inspiration and trend ideas over the years as they look to create visuals for today's retail environments.

Craftsman This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1901-1916
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Full text of The Craftsman, an Arts and Crafts magazine. Through discussions of politics, public policy, economics, education, nationalism, & diverse social issues, The Craftsman implied connections between the ideal home & the world outside.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Journals draws together material from some of the finest archives across the UK and the US representing the rich variety of the eighteenth century press. It makes available unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals online conveying the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. While the journals were published predominantly in the UK, there are items published in other English-speaking areas such as India.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive offers digitized versions of the U.S. and U.K. editions of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to present, featuring high-resolution images and searchable texts, providing deep insights and detailed indexing of over 150 years of fashion, culture, and societal trends.
Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
A satirical Soviet magazine which began publishing in 1922.Useful for understanding Soviet political science, history and literature.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the definitive fashion and retail publication, Women’s Wear Daily (WWD). The entire archive of WWD, previously unavailable in digital form, opens up new opportunities for research. This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for students across the disciplines of fashion, business, and history.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Includes a large collection of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Subjects include LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This multimedia collection covers the history of the Disability Rights Movement with a focus on the 20th century. Content covers disability theory, arts and culture, advocacy and rights, legislation and politics, war, industry, and technology, independence and accessibility, and intersectionality with race, class, and gender with disability. Includes e-books, e-journals, streaming video, and other content.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1960 - 1974
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America through letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage.
Alternate titles: Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives