Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Standards (Engineering)

A guide to locating technical standards and a list of standards available in Noble Library

Introduction

These tools will help you identify standards by number, title, or keyword in title.

Once you have located the alpha-numeric designation for a standard, go to Standards Available in the ASU Library on this guide to determine whether the ASU Library has a copy.

Resources available: 

Multi-Organization Databases

The following commercial providers have databases in which you can identify standards from multiple organizations.  You will not be able to see the full text of the standards online from these databases; after identifying which standards you need, check the Standards Available in Noble Library on this guide to see if the standards are available in the ASU Library.

  • IHS Global Engineering
    Covers international standards (ISO, IEC) as well as national standards from many countries.  Search by keyword in title or by document number. 
     
  • NSSN
    The database of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI); covers ANSI-approved standards as well as some non-ANSI documents.  Search by keyword in title or by document number.
     
  • TechStreet
    Covers the following publishers:
    • American Gas Association (AGA)
    • American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
    • American Petroleum Institute (API)
    • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
    • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
    • ASTM International (ASTM)
    • British Standards Institute (BSI)
    • Deutsches Institut fur Normung (German Institute for Standards, DIN)
    • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
    • International Organization for Standards (ISO)
    • Military Specifications (MIL)
    • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

Single Organization Databases

The following organizations maintain a database specifically for their own standards or their standards are findable via the search engine on their website.   Standards that are available online within the database will be indicated; for all other standards click on the link given below to see if the standards are available in the ASU Library.

Ask a Librarian

Hours and Locations