Skip to main content

Geographical Sciences: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

This guide contains information on selected resources for research in Geography. It includes both print and electronic resources. Many electronic resources, such as indexes and journals, are available to ASU-affiliated users only.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Gregory, Derek (editor) Dictionary of Human Geography - online

AccessScience McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

Allaby, Michael. 2002. Encyclopedia of weather and climate.
SCIENCE REFERENCE QC854 .A45 2002 v.1 & 2

American Society of Civil Engineers and others, 1994. Glossary of the mapping sciences.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE TA505 .G57 1994

Clark, Audrey N., 1985. Longman dictionary of geography: human and physical.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE G63 .C56 1985

Collin, P.H., 1998. Dictionary of ecology and the environment.
SCIENCE REFERENCE QH540.4 .C65 1998

Delpar, Helen, 1980. The Discoverers: an encyclopedia of explorers and exploration.
HAYDEN REFERENCE G200 .D53

Dunbar, Gary S., 1991. Modern geography: an encyclopedic survey.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR G63 .M57 1991

Fairbridge, Rhodes W., 1968. The Encyclopedia of geomorphology.
SCIENCE REFERENCE GB10 .F3 1968

Gaile, Gary L. and Willmott, Cort J. Eds. 2003. Geography in America at the dawn of the 21st century.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR

Gilpin, Alan, 1996. Dictionary of environment and sustainable development.
SCIENCE REFERENCE HC79.E5 G518 1996

Goudie, A. S., 2004. The Encyclopedia of geomorphology.
SCIENCE GB400.3 .E53 2004   

Hoehn, Philip and Larsgaard, Mary Lynette, 1999. Dictionary of abbreviations and acronyms in geographic information systems, cartography and remote sensing. University of California Berkeley Library Web Site.

Huber, Thomas P., Larkin, Robert P. and Peters, Gary L., 1988. Dictionary of concepts in physical geography.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR GB10 .H82 1988

Huber, Thomas P., Larkin, Robert P. and Peters, Gary L., 1983. Dictionary of concepts in human geography.
HAYDEN REFERENCE GF4 .L37 1983

Johnston, R.J., and others, 2000. The Dictionary of human geography.
HAYDEN REFERENCE GF4 .D52 2000

Kuper, Adam and Kuper, Jessica, 1996. The Social science encyclopedia.
HAYDEN REFERENCE H41 .S63 1996

Larkin, Robert P. and Peters, Gary L., 1993. Biographical dictionary of geography.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR G67 .L37 1993 

Mauder, W. J. 1992. Dictionary of global climate change

Mayhew, Susan. 1997. A dictionary of geography.
HAYDEN REFERENCE G63 .M39 1997

McDowell, Linda and Sharp, Joanne P., 1999. A feminist glossary of human geography.
SCIENCE REFERENCE G63 .G5 1999

National Geographic Society, 1999. The National Geographic desk reference.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE G123 .N38 1999

Oliver, John E. and Fairbridge, Rhodes W., 1987. The Encyclopedia of climatology.
SCIENCE REFERENCE QC854 .E525 1987

Pidwirny, Michael, 1999. Online Glossary of Terms for Physical Geography. Web Site from Department of Geography, Okanagan University College, Kelowna, British Columbia.

Sills, David L., ed., 1968-1991. International encyclopedia of the social sciences.
HAYDEN REFERENCE H40 .A2 I5

Small, Ronald J., 1995. A modern dictionary of geography.
SCIENCE REFERENCE G63 .S53 1995

Smith, Jacqueline. 2001. The facts on file dictionary of weather and climate.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR QC854 .F33 2001

Thomas, David S.G. and Goudie, Andrew, Eds, 2000. The dictionary of physical geography.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE GB10 .D53 2000

 

Hours and Locations