Skip to main content

Geographical Sciences: Locating Maps/Geospatial Resources

This guide contains information on selected resources for research in Geography. It includes both print and electronic resources. Many electronic resources, such as indexes and journals, are available to ASU-affiliated users only.

Finding Maps

Map Indexes

  • ASU Map Index (1696+) - Covers more than 95% of the maps available in the Collection. Includes title, author, date, scale, subject & the geographic area covered by each map or map set. Lists historical maps in the Arizona Collection and Arizona Historical Foundation
  • Library Catalog  Covers maps received since 2006.  Use advance searching to modify search to include only maps.
  • Current Geographical Publications (2004+ available online only; 1938-2003 available in print) - Contains bibliographic references to books, journal articles, textual documents, maps, and atlases covering all areas of geography.
  • Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Arizona) - Provides digital access to maps of towns and cities in Arizona.
  • GeoRef (1785+) - Abstracts books, journal articles, proceedings, dissertations, theses, maps and government publications related to the Earth Sciences, including Physical Geography.
  • National Geologic Map Database - Cataloges more 67,000 maps and related data from the United States Geological Survey publications and from state geological surveys.

Subject Guide

Mimmo Bonanni's picture
Mimmo Bonanni
Contact:
Hayden Library
C1R , 300 E Orange Mall, Tempe, AZ 85281
480-965-8168
Website / Blog Page

Hours and Locations