Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Earth Sciences

Geology of the States - Table of contents

 

To find geologic maps, try one of the following sources:

Books
Journal Articles
Maps
USGS Publications
Field Trip Guides
National Parks
Geological Surveys
Geological Societies
Online Publications

To find geologic maps from a particular state, try one of the following sources:

Alabama (AL)
Alaska (AK)
Arizona (AZ)
Arkansas (AR)
California (CA)
Colorado (CO)
Connecticut (CT)
Delaware (DE)
Florida (FL)
Georgia (GA)
Hawaii (HI)
Idaho (ID)
Illinois (IL)
Indiana (IN)
Iowa (IA)
Kansas (KS)
Kentucky (KY)
Louisianna (LA)
Maine (ME)
Maryland (MD)
Massachusetts (MA)
Michigan (MI)
Minnesota (MN)
Mississippi (MS)
Missouri (MO)
Montana (MT)
Nebraska (NE)
Nevada (NV)
New Hampshire (NH)
New Jersey (NJ)
New Mexico (NM)
New York (NY)
North Carolina (NC)
North Dakota (ND)
Ohio (OH)
Oklahoma (OK)
Oregon (OR)
Pennsylvania (PA)
Rhode Island (RI)
South Carolina (SC)
South Dakota (SD)
Tennessee (TN)
Texas (TX)
Utah (UT)
Vermont (VT)
Virginia (VA)
Washington (WA)
West Virginia (WV)
Wisconsin (WI)
Wyoming (WY)

Finding Aids

Finding Books

  • To find books in the ASU Library use the ASU Library's online catalog
    Search Tips:
    • Do a subject search for geology state (ex. geology oklahoma)
    • Note the call number, library and location for each item.

  • To find books in other libraries use WorldCat
    Search Tips:
    • Option #1
      Do a subject search (su) for geology state
      Example: su:Geology Oklahoma
    • Option #2
      Do a search for geology state (ex. geology oklahoma), then use the Refine Your Search column on the left to limit results to Content - Geography & Earth Science; continue to refine by other options as needed.


Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles use the GeoRef database. Georef is available via "Find -->Articles" on the ASU Library's Home Page

Search Tips:

  • In the first row of search boxes type the state name and change the "field" box from "Keywords, KW=" to "Descriptors, DE="; enter subject term(s) in the 2nd and 3rd row of boxes.
    (Locations should always be searched in the "descriptor" field; this will ensure that the location is a topic of the article and not the location where the author works.)
  • The asterisk (*) may to used to find variant forms of a word.
  • The search will include USGS, AzGS and AGS publications, proceedings of conferences, Master thesis and PhD dissertations.
  • To limit the search to journal articles:
    • In the next row (use the "add row" link in the upper right if necessary), put serial in the search box and change "field" box from "Keywords, KW=" to "Publication Type, PT=";
    • In the next row, change the boolean operator from "and" to "not"; in the search boxes put conference or abstract or report and change "field" box from "Keywords, KW=" to "Publication Type, PT=".
  • To find articles online and/or in the ASU Library, use the "Full Text" link or click on the yellow "Get It @ ASU" button after each entry in the results list.


Finding Maps

  • Maps in the ASU Library
    Sheetmaps are located in the Map Collection on the 3rd floor of the Noble Library.
    • To find geological maps of the states in the ASU Map Collection, use the ASU Map Index.
      • In the Term box, type city/region state geology
        For example:
        • Tempe Arizona geology
        • Pikes Peak Colorado geology
      • In the Field box, select All

    • To find USGS maps in the ASU Map Collection, use the ASU Map Index.
      • In the Term box, type city/region state USGS geology
        For example:
        • Mesa Arizona USGS geology
      • In the Field box, select All

    • Some maps may also be located by using the ASU Library online catalog (http://catalog.lib.asu.edu)
      • Do a Keyword search for City/region state (map or maps) geology
        For example:
        • Mesa Arizona (map or maps) geology
  • Online Maps

Need more help finding maps? Contact our Map Collection staff at 480-965-3582 or at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian/


Identifying United States Geological Survey (USGS) Publications

USGS publications, except for sheet maps, are located in Hayden Library in the Government Documents collection on the 3rd floor. Sheet maps are located in the Map Collection on the 3rd floor of the Noble Library.

  • USGS Home Page

  • USGS State Information Available on the Internet
    Go to the USGS Home Page, click on the appropriate state in the US map under "Science in Your Backyard" in the right-hand column. Information includes: biological resources, earthquakes, minerals, recreational, and water resources.

  • Identifying USGS Publications via GeoRef
    To find USGS publications on a specific state/region/city via the GeoRef database:
    • In the first row of search boxes type the state name and change the "field" box from "Keywords, KW=" to "Descriptors, DE=";
      (Locations should always be searched in the "descriptor" field; this will ensure that the location is a topic of the article and not the location where the author works.)
    • In the 2nd row of search boxes, type usgs and change the "field" box from "Keywords, KW=" to "Descriptors, DE=";
    • In the 3rd search box, type in the subject.


    Georef is available via the "Find -->Articles" category on the ASU Library's Home Page.

  • Finding USGS Publications Available Online
    • Go to the USGS Home Page,
    • Click on the "Maps, Products & Publications" button near the top of the page,
    • Select "Publications Warehouse" from the list.
    • Once a search is completed, click on the "More info" link to the left of a document to get the complete information, and, if available, a link to the document online.
    • Note that the search engine in the Publications Warehouse is not as sopishicated as the one in GeoRef, so fewer and/or less accurate results may be obtained.


Identifying Geology Field Trip Guides

Finding the Geology of the National Parks

 

Finding Online Information and Publications from Geological Surveys, Geological Societies and Others

Arizona

  • State Agencies
  • Societies
  • Miscellaneous
    • Stephen J. Reynolds: Arizona Geology (Arizona State University)
      "This web site of Steve Reynolds, geology professor at Arizona State University, contains numerous color photographs, 3D perspectives, and information about the Geology of Arizona, Landscapes of the Southwest, structural geology, science-education reform, and using Bryce5 to illustrate geology." Includes the Arizona Geology Virtual Tourist Home Page

    • Dr. Ron Blakely: Home Page (Northern Arizona University)
      Contains information about the Colorado Plateau including overview of the sedimentary geology, general list of references (including NAU MS theses), and up-to-date data on sedimentary rocks. This site also has information on plate tectonic and continental drift reconstructions of the Phanerozoic including detailed paleogeography of Southwestern North America.

    • Grand Canyon Bibliography
      "The bibliography lists more than 25,000 items produced between 1540 and the present. It includes books, periodicals, serials, maps, audio-visual works, and electronic media in 34 subject areas. Coverage includes the Grand Canyon of Arizona and the lower Colorado River corridor between Glen Canyon Dam, Arizona, and the Colorado River delta in Mexico. Greatly expanded and revised from earlier editions published by Grand Canyon Natural History Association." Search the database by author, subject, key words, citation number, and/or year; or browse the 34 subject categories and search within these selected groupings .

Alabama

Alaska

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

  • State Agencies
    • Indiana Geological Survey
      Click on the "geology" button in the upper left of the screen to see a list of "articles" related to the geology of Indiana.

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

  • State Agencies
  • Geological Societies
  • Miscellaneous
    • Bedrock Geology map (About.com)
      http://geology.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http%3A//www.geo.umn.edu/mgs/bdrkexpl.html
    • ForNet Applications (Minnesota Department of Natural Resources)
      http://www.ra.dnr.state.mn.us/
      Images of the Minnesota landscape; mainly for forestry information.
    • Minnesota Prehistory (Minnesota State University, Mankato, E-Museum)
      http://emuseum.mnsu.edu/prehistory/minnesota/index.shtml
      The "Sites" section includes geological information.
    • Minnesota's Geology (Minnesota Department of Natural Resources)
      http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/fish_and_wildlife/sna/minnesota_story.html
      A review of the development of Minnesota's landscape and the natural communities.

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

  • State Agencies
  • Geological Societies
    • Tobacco Root Geological Society
      http://www.trgs.org/default.htm
      • Publications List
        http://www.trgs.org/pubs.htm
        "A complete compilation of TRGS papers published in both Northwest Geology and Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology (MBMG) Special Publications has been added to [the] Publications list. Nearly all of these publications are Guidebooks from the TRGS Annual Field Conferences. "
  • Miscellaneous
    • Geologic map (About.com: Geology)
      http://geology.about.com/library/bl/maps/blmontanamap.htm

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota to Wyoming

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Hours and Locations