Bibliographies

Boetticher, Wolgang. Handschriftlich überlieferte Lauten- und Gitarrentabulaturen de 15. Bis 18. Jahrhunderts: beschreibender Katalog. München: Henle, 1978.

ML113 .I6 Ser. B v.7 1978 MUSIC Reference

An index of guitar and lute tablature manuscripts, collected by RISM. While the introduction is given in German, French and English, all the entries are given in German. It is organized alphabetically by the city in which the manuscripts are held. One of the only reference sources devoted to tablature manuscripts.

Duckles, Vincent H. Music Reference and Research Materials: an Annotated Bibliography. New York: Schirmer Books, 1997

ML113 .D83 1997 MUSIC REFERENCE

This is the current definitive music bibliography. It is divided by resource type (such as dictionaries, bibliographies, etc.). In order to find information on guitar literature and bibliographies, look under "strings" in instrumental subdivisions, or "plectoral instruments." Information can also be found on individual musicians by name. There is a very detailed index at the end; looking under "guitar" will show a complete listing. Annotations include brief descriptions and reviews. This is a good chaining point for beginning research.

Gilmore, George. Guitar Music Index: a Cross-Indexed and Graded Listing of Music in Print for Classical Guitar & Lute. Honolulu: Galliard Press, 1976.

ML128 .G8 G5x MUSIC REFERENCE

This is a compilation of guitar music in print, organized by ensemble and instrument (whether guitar or lute). Includes methods and technical studies. Listed by publishers first, then by composer, title, ensemble. Also includes books, magazines, and periodicals.

Helleu, Laurence. La guitare en concert : catalogue des œuvres avec guitare du XXe siècle (duos, trios, musique de chambre, orchestre, concertos). Paris : Éditions musicales Transatlantiques, 1983.

ML128 .G8 H44x 1983 MUSCI REFERENCE

Catalog of 20th century ensemble works that include guitar and are not limited to classical. It is organized by ensemble and includes operas and ballet. The entries are very brief; there is a guide to abbreviations, a publisher listing and sources at the end. Helpful for discovering non-guitar-centered works for performance and study.

Jape, Mijndert. Classical Guitar Music in Print. Philadelphia: Musicdata, Inc., 1989.

ML128 .G8 J36 1989 MUSIC REFERENCE

This is part of the Music in Print series. It is organized by ensemble, methods, and technical studies, with a separate section for Christmas Music. There are also special sections for Johann Sebastian Bach and Francisco Tarrega. A detailed guide for use is included. The online version is continually updated and offers search functionality.

Reese, Donald T. Classical Guitar Music in Print. Supplement. Philadelphia: Musicdata, 1998.

ML128 .G8 J36 1989 Suppl. MUSIC REFERENCE

Supplement to 1989 volume, it adds 11,600 entries. Same organization, clarified by ensemble, Bach and Tarrega integrated in appropriate time periods.

Lyons, David. Lute, Vihuela, Guitar to 1800, a Bibliography. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1978.

ML128 .S7 L9 MUSIC REFERENCE

Alphabetical bibliography, including biographies on composers/performers, construction, luthiers, lute history, manuscripts, instrumentation, reviews, tuning, and related instruments covering the time period between 1500-1800. Does not include transcriptions for the guitar. There is an author index in the back, and an addendum that is separately indexed.

MacAuslan, Janna. Guitar Music by Women Composers: an Annotated Catalog. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.

ML128 .G8 M33 1997 MUSIC REFERENCE

Catalog of music by women composers; organized by instrumentation and ensemble. Includes brief composer biographies and composer and publisher addresses. Indexed by composer and title. Entries are brief, consisting of composer, title and publisher.

McCutcheon, Meredith. Guitar and Vihuela: an Annotated Bibliography. New York: Pendragon Press, 1985.

ML128 .G8 M45 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE

This is one of the definitive guitar bibliographies. It includes a brief history of the vihuela. It is arranged by reference type and includes books and articles, histories, dictionaries, iconography, design and construction, composers, performers, theorists and publishers. Annotations are brief and descriptive. Two appendices are included: periodicals devoted to guitar, and music printed before 1800.

Rezits, Joseph. The Guitarist's Resource Guide: Guitar Music in Print and Books on the Art of Guitar. San Diego, CA: Pallma Music Co, 1983.

ML128 .G8 R5 1983 MUSIC REFERENCE

Includes music in print for guitar, lute, mandolin and vihuela, books on performance, construction and repair, history, notable guitarists and teachers, dictionaries, surveys and catalogs. It also includes a publisher index. Arranged alphabetically by author for complete entries, abbreviated listings by subject (e.g. Christmas music).

Schwarz, Werner. Guitar Bibliography: and International Listing of Theoretical Literature on Classical Guitar from the Beginning to the Present. München; New York: K.G. Saur, 1984.

ML128 .G8 S4 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE

Includes entries for books, journals, journal articles, and reviews from the 16th century to the present, with an emphasis on the 20th century. Does not include annotations. Features an author index and an index of performers as well as composers.