Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Woodwinds: General Literature

Coleman, Leo Russell. Annotated Bibliography of Woodwind Study Materials Which Deal with Performance Problems in Contemporary Music. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1970.

FILM 4186 MUSIC MICROFORMS


A Ph.D. dissertation from the University of Iowa, 1969.

Horne, Aaron. Woodwind Music of Black Composers. New York: Greenwood, 1990.

ML128 .W5 H65 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing of 430 works by 90 Black composers, including African, Afro-Latin and Afro-Europeans. Includes works for from one to 13 instruments, with some instruments other than woodwinds, plus voices. Composers are arranged alphabetically by nationality, and include biographical information as well as a listing of their works. Also includes an index by instrumentation, a discography, and a bibliography.

Merriman, Lyle. Woodwind Research Guide: A Selective Bibliography of Materials Pertaining to the Literature, Development, and Acoustics of Woodwind Instruments. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist, 1978.

ML128 .W5 M5 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of books, articles and dissertations covering the woodwind families.

Rasmussen, Mary. Teacher's Guide to the Literature of Woodwind Instruments. Durham, NH: Brass and Woodwind Quarterly, 1966.

ML128 .W5 P5 MUSIC REFERENCE


Primarily a textual discussion of the solo and ensemble literature for woodwinds, including studies and methods, but contains substantial bibliographies in each section. Also includes discography.

Skei, Allen B. Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion Instruments of the Orchestra: A Bibliographic Guide. New York: Garland, 1985.

ML128 .W5 S6 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selected bibliography of books, articles, and dissertations on the wind and percussion instruments of the classical orchestra. The focus is on the nature and historical development of the instruments, but includes performers and performance practice. Includes author and subject indexes.

Voxman, Himie. Woodwind Solo and Study Material Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist, 1975.

ML128 .W5 V72x MUSIC REFERENCE


Also originally meant as a guide to literature in print, taken from over 300 publishers' catalogs and information centers. Arranged by instrument and includes unaccompanied solos, solos with keyboard, band or orchestra, and methods and studies.

Warner, Thomas E. Annotated Bibliography of Woodwind Instruction Books, 1600-1830. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1967.

ML128 .W5 W4 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of early woodwind tutors, all of which contain some form of written directions or instructions for playing an instrument. Excluded are those which contain only musical exercises. Arranged chronologically, with author and title indexes.

Young, Phillip T. Twenty-five Hundred Historical Woodwind Instruments: An Inventory of the Major Collections. New York: Pendragon Press, 1982.

ML462 .Y69 MUSIC STACKS


An inventory, arranged alphabetically by makers' last name, giving detailed descriptions of each instrument or group of instruments. Includes location, owner and inventory number.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.