Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Online Resources

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.

Journal Indexes (ASU Users)

Music Periodicals Database

Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Indexes international music periodicals, and feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.

Music Index Online

Covers every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.  Coverage from 1974 to present.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Contains nearly a quarter of a million abstracts, articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews, etc.

 

Academic Search Premier

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects.

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references. Covers more than 1,150 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals in a broad range of disciplines.

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies (BMB)

Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.

Ethnic News Watch 

Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

JSTOR

Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals.  Subjects covered include Music (56 journals) and the Performing Arts (15 journals).

Nexis Uni

Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes performance reviews and music criticism.

Periodicals Index Online

An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

Project Muse

Provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism,history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.