Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Online Resources

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.

Other Digital Collections

Analecta hymnica medii aevi digitalia (ASU Users)

Originally published in 55 volumes from 1886 to 1926, Analecta hymnica medii aevi contains Latin texts of hymns of the Catholic Church, 500-1400. This complete digital edition allows for searching the full text of the hymns, including the bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints. The user may also search by author and title, and browse by volume.

  

ARTstor Digital Library (ASU Users)

The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and decorative arts.  The collection also contains facsimiles of music manuscripts, musical iconography, composer images, and images of musical instruments.

  

ASU Ebrary (ASU Users)

The Ebrary Academic Complete collection has over 22,000 full-text books, journals, and maps covering five main subject areas - Business and Economics, Career and General Education, Computers, Engineering and Applied Sciences, Humanities, Social/Behavioral Sciences and Life/PhysicalSciences.

  

Early English Books Online (ASU Users)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.  In addition to the great literature of the time, the collection includes broadsides, musical exercises, and many other primary music resources.

  

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ASU Users)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, music, the fine arts, science and more.

 

The Essentials of Music 

The essentials of music website offers a comprehensive overview of classical music and includes a focus on six main eras of classical music, a glossary, and biographies of selected composers.

 

Musical Instruction and Musical Learning 1450-1650

This site is a web-based bibliography on Musical Instruction and Musical Learning from 1450-1650. This bibliography is designed to cover the secondary literature on how music was taught and learned during the two-century period 1450 to 1650, elucidating aspects such as the institutions, traditions, and practices of musical pedagogy in the Early Modern Period. This site is provided by the Wilson Music Library at Vanderbilt University.

 

Myilibrary (ASU Users)

The MyiLibrary collection contains full-text books, journals, reports and other documents published by major publishers and inter-governmental/non-governmental organisations such as the International Atomic Energy Agency, the World Bank, World Health Organization, the United Nations and the International Labor Organisation. This database contains a section dedicated to music and books about music.

  

Netlibrary (ASU Users)

Provides full-text books from many of the world's leading commercial publishers and university presses. Includes a wide range of scholarly, reference, and professional titles. Also includes a large number of public domain titles. Subjects covered by netLibrary include Arts & Entertainment; Business & Economy; Computer & Internet; Education; Health; History; Government & Law; Recreation & Sports; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences; Society & Culture.

 

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.