Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Ethnic Studies in the United States

Resources relating to the study of ethnic American groups primarily covering History and the Social Sciences

Discipline-Specific Databases

These daatabases are specifically related to an academic discipline or are topically-specific.  They are excellent resources when you are focusing on a specific discipline or topic.

Education:

Education Full Text:  Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations,vocational education, etc.  6/1983+

ERIC (Proquest): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

ERIC (via Department of Education, 1966+): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal and ERIC Document citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. The collection includes articles from journal and non-journal education literature. Provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966.

Business:

ABI/INFORM Complete:  ABI/INFORM Complete™ is a comprehensive business database of articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. 1923+

 Criminal Justice: 

 Criminal Justice Abstracts: This resource includes full text covering major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies, and includes an informative summary of the findings, methodology.  1968+

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database(Proquest):  The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research.

Law, Political Science and Public Affairs:

 

 CQ Library    (CQ Weekly and CQ Researcher)

(1983+) A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. that provides access to two of CQ's premier publications, the CQ Weekly and The CQ Researcher.

Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History (1754+) 
HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library

 

 Legal Periodicals Retrospective  (1908-1981) retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

 

Nexis Uni  Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts  

 

LexisNexis Congressional
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

 

 PAIS International    (Public Affairs Information Service)
(1972+) Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

 

 Worldwide Political Science Abstracts    (CSA Political Science Bibliographies & Political Science Abstracts)
(1975+) Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

 

Psychology, Sociology & Social Services:

 

Family Studies Abstracts: Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

PsychInfo: Includes PsycLIT. Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics,education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.  1887+

SocIndex with Full Text:  SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Social Services Abstracts (1980+) Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews

Sociological Abstracts  Very useful database particularly for social and ethnic history -- covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.



 

 

Ethnicity-specific and Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
Tip
: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

America: History and Life 
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time. 

Bibliography of Native North Americans
(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Black Studies Center  Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, includingThe Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), Black Literature Index, and Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Black Newspapers Collection

Chicano Database
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.

CQ Library    (CQ Weekly and CQ Researcher)
(1983+) A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. that provides access to two of CQ's premier publications, the CQ Weekly and The CQ Researcher.

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.  

Ethnic NewsWatch  (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media

Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History (1754+) 
HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library   

Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 

Index to Jewish Periodicals  The Index is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. It provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.  

 JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Nexis Uni Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts.  Here are  ASU Law Library Tutorials on Finding Legal Articles Using Nexis Uni and    Finding Cases Using Nexis Uni

LexisNexis Congressional Includes full text
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.  

Nineteenth Century Masterfile    (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.

Women's Studies International(1972+)  Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)  
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes bibliographic records for any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. 

Hours and Locations