America: History and Life
(1954+) Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.
African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902 This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
American Indian History Online A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
(1950s+) Access to special collection details of more than 4,400 repositories includes records with complete detailed indexes for approximately 100,000 individual collections. Includes access through NUCMC and NIDS subject headings.
Arizona and Southwestern Index
(mid 1800s+) Indexes the Arizona, Chicano, Visual Literacy, Univ. Archives, Labriola Center, Child Drama, and Special collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc. Includes items in Arizona Historical Foundation & Hayden Library
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902
Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.
Center for Research Libraries CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional (1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.
Periodical Archive Online (1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer, 1791 - 2003;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990
Shema Arizona (The Arizona Jewish Historical Society Oral History Project)
(1900+) Oral histories conducted by the Arizona Jewish Historical Society. Includes the transcripts, recordings, and photographs.
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000 This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website.
Archives & Primary Sources - General
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library.
A rapidly growing collection of documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures and maps. Some of the collections now available are: Pioneering Women; African American Perspectives; California Gold; Civil War Photographs; America in the Great Depression; and many others in the Library of Congress.
Civil Rights Documentation Project - A Mississippi site which includes transcripts of oral history interviews, a civil rights timeline, and bibliography
Digital History This site includes: a U.S. history e-textbook; over 400 annotated documents, primary sources on slavery, Mexican American and Native American history, and U.S. political, social, and legal history; short essays on the history of film, ethnicity, private life, and technology; multimedia exhibitions, an audio archive including speeches and book talks by historians, and a visual archive with hundreds of historical maps and images. The site's Ask the HyperHistorian feature allows users to pose questions to professional historians.
Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
The Holocaust History Project: The Holocaust History Project is a free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial. Another resource for documents on the Holocaust, Israel & Zionism & Jewish Communities is the Academic Guide to Jewish History.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930: Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, this website includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.
Making of America(Cornell University); Making of America( University of Michigan)
(1800-1925 ) Full text of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This is actually two separate sites with separate resources -- one site is sponsored by The University of Michigan and the other by Cornell University.
Minority Health and Health Equity Archive Welcome to The Minority Health and Health Equity Archive, an electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy. It is offered as a no-charge resource to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers interested in the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities. The goal of the Archive is to advance the use of new digital technologies to promote trans-disciplinary scholarship on race, ethnicity and disparities research designed to achieve health equity.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The National Archives web site includes descriptions of NARA facilities; copies of publications such as finding aids; and some Federal records regulations. The agency is working to improve access to the contents of the archives and this site should become increasingly valuable.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 2700 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources. Coverage is worldwide.
African American History (Historical Text Archive)
A variety of sources are listed here, including: texts of important books and documents; biographical sketches of historical figures; bibliographies; mailing lists; bulletin boards; and many links to other internet sources.
African American History - About.com - Primary Text Index Writings and documents by and about African-Americans
Africans in America
This is an excellent site for resources and primary source materials. It is divided into four segments: The Terrible Transformation, 1450 - 1750; Revolution, 1750 - 1805; Brotherly Love, 1791 - 1831; and Judgment Day, 1831 - 1865
Anti-Slavery Literature Project The goal of the Antislavery Literature Project is to increase public access to a body of literature crucial to understanding African American experience, US and hemispheric histories of slavery, and early human rights philosophies. These multilingual collections contribute to an educational consciousness of the role of many antislavery writers in creating contemporary concepts of freedom.
Universal Black Pages
Created originally through the efforts of members of the Black Graduate Students' Association at Georgia Tech Univeristy, this is a comprehensive collection of pointers to subjects related to the "African Diaspora."
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909
Presents 397 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church
Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves, most born in the last years of the slave regime or during the Civil War, provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms. This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of these narratives, and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79).
African-American Women: Online Archival Collections
A select collection of primary source materials from the Special Collections Department at Duke University.
Black Studies Center (Access through ASU Library)(1827+) Black Studies Center combines several invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies (1970-2004), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940). Resources are fully cross-searchable and include scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and supporting materials.
Malcolm X: A Research Site This is a comprehensive website on the life and legacy of Malcolm X.
Yahoo/U. S. History/Slavery
Yahoo is my search engine of choice when I begin an Internet Search. Its History sections are excellent. Because of its subject and hierarchical structure, it is the closest to a Library of the Internet.
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive This online Archive is based on interdisciplinary academic research conducted by trained observers reporting from “war relocation centers.” The collection includes nearly 100,000 original manuscript items — among them personal narratives never before made public, due to restrictions on their release designed to protect individual internees who shared their experiences.
Native American Documents Project
Texts of documents about the history of federal policy concerning native peoples. Primarily 19th century documents
Internet Sacred Text Archive - Native Americans: "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language."
Relations between the United States and Native Americans: The Avalon Project
This link is to one of the major collections on The Avalon Project. Among other documents it includes a complete list of treaties.
Yahoo - U. S. History - Women's History As one can now tell, this subject guide is inclined to begin any internet search on the appropriate Yahoo subject page.
American Women's History: A Research Guide American Women's History provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources.
Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet: A webpage sponsored by Duke University Special Collections Library containing diaries, letters and photographs.
Cornell University Witchcraft Collection The Cornell University Library Witchcraft Collection is an online selecton of titles from the Cornell University Library's extensive collection of materials on Witchcraft. The Witchcraft Collection is a rich source for students and scholars of the history of superstition and witchcraft persecution in Europe.
Defining Gender Online: 1450 - 1910 (Access through ASU Library) This database brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, the following are currently available: Section I: Conduct and Politeness - Available; Section II: Domesticity and the Family - Available
Five Colleges Archives Digital Access Project This Web site provides access to digitized versions of archival records and manuscript collections relating primarily to women's history -- particularly women's education at the Five Colleges.
National Women's History Project The National Women’s History Project Learning Place is designed to provide you with information and educational materials about multicultural women’s history.
WestWeb: Making it on Their Own This section (use link on right hand index frame) of WestWeb provides information about Women in the West.
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000 (Access through ASU Library) This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website.
Women in the 19th Century: Matilda Joslyn Gage Website This site intends to be the most comprehensive collection of links on women in the 19th century on the net.
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 One of Harvard's Open Collections Program, this site focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts; 3,500 books and pamphlets; and 1,200 photographs.
Evaluating Primary Source Sites on the Internet
Using Primary Sources on the Web ( from ALA/RUSA)
Evaluating Primary Sources ( From American Memory)How To Read a Primary Source ( from the University of Iowa)
Guidelines for Evaluating Historical Websites
Who: Who is the author or sponsor of the website? Is that person or organization named? Is any supporting documentation available?
What: What is the mission or purpose of the website? Is it clearly articulated? What kinds of materials are on the website? Are they properly cited and acknowledged? What is the document format on the web?
Where: Where is the site located? Is there a physical address with phone number and email address for a contact person? Does the site have a .edu, .org, or .com address?
Why: Why does the site exist? Does it have a point of view or opinion? Is it pedagogical or polemic? Does it want something from you?
Border and Migration Studies Online: Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. In collaboration with an international board of scholars, materials were selected and organized around fundamental themes such as: Border Identities, Enforcement, and Disputes; Human Trafficking; and Undocumented Migration
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, this website includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.
Proquest Congressional ASU access only): Any research into Immigration in the United States must include congressional documents. Proquest Congressional Publications is a treasure trove of congressional documents from 1789 on including U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info. See Also: Proquest Legislative Insight: Immigration (ASU access only):