Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Ethnic Studies in the United States

Resources relating to the study of ethnic American groups primarily covering History and the Social Sciences

20th and 21st Century Newspapers

20th & 21st Century US Newspapers

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Arizona Republic    Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see CD-News: Arizona Republic  January 1999 to present

 CD News: Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and Arizona Business Gazette (ASU Library workstations only)  (1987 to one month ago or more) Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette). Date Range: 1987 to one month ago or more. For online access to 1999-current Arizona Republ ic articles see Arizona Republic (Access World News).

Chicago Tribune Chicago Tribune (1985-present) indexes each issue thoroughly, covering not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.


Ethnic NewsWatch  (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media

Nexis Uni  Full text of over 5,000 newspapers( including major US newspaers such as the New York Times), trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.

Los Angeles Times, 1985+  This is the current editions of the LA Times back to 1985 and continues the Historical LA Times

NewsBank NewsFile CDROM : Historical Files 1980 - 1998  Provides full text access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. NewsBank Newsfile (1996-1998) which includes full text on the CD and NewsBank Reference Services Plus (1980-1996) which provides citations to the microfiche collection of the full text articles.

New York Times The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.

Wall Street Journal  (1986+) Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Historic Newspaper Databases

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902    This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers (primarily the Twentieth Century) A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.  Newspapers covered are: Atlanta Daily WorldBaltimore Afro AmericanChicago DefenderCleveland Call And PostLos Angeles SentinelNew York Amsterdam NewsNorfolk Journal And GuidePhiladelphia TribunePittsburg Courier

Historical African American Newspapers Online:  This LibGuide produced by Elizabeth Clarke of Marist College provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. 

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902 Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.  States included in this essential and invaluable digital repository are: Alabama; Arizona; California; Colorado; District of Columbia; Florida; Hawaii; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; LouisianaMinnesotaMissouri; Montana; NebraskaNew MexicoNew York; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; South CarolinaTennessee; Texas; Utah; Vermont; Virginia; Washington(state).

 

The Lily  The Lily, the first newspaper for women in the United States, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It had a local and national focus on both temperance and women’s rights.

Pennsylvania Gazette Collection  The Pennsylvania Gazette was considered the paper of record for colonial and revolutionary America. The full text coverage spans the time from significant early eastern colonial expansion ( 1728) through the first true world war ( 1763) and then through the Revolution ( with the government centered in Philadelphia) and then including the Constitutional Convention and Washington’s two terms. Coverage continues through 1800.

Periodical Archive Online (1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project, 1895 - present: The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project makes available more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh. The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-present), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).  Note: This site will work best on a desktop computer with an up-to-date browser. A PDF reader is required

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922;  Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer, 1791 - 2003;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

 

Hours and Locations