African American History (Historical Text Archive)
A variety of sources are listed here, including: texts of important books and documents; biographical sketches of historical figures; bibliographies; mailing lists; bulletin boards; and many links to other internet sources.
African American History - About.com - Primary Text Index Writings and documents by and about African-Americans
Africans in America
This is an excellent site for resources and primary source materials. It is divided into four segments: The Terrible Transformation, 1450 - 1750; Revolution, 1750 - 1805; Brotherly Love, 1791 - 1831; and Judgment Day, 1831 - 1865
Anti-Slavery Literature Project The goal of the Antislavery Literature Project is to increase public access to a body of literature crucial to understanding African American experience, US and hemispheric histories of slavery, and early human rights philosophies. These multilingual collections contribute to an educational consciousness of the role of many antislavery writers in creating contemporary concepts of freedom.
The Crisis, 1910 - 1922 Founded in 1910 as the house magazine of the NAACP and edited by W. E. B. Du Bois, The Crisis quickly became the most important voice of the African-American struggle for cultural identity and civic justice in the U.S.
The Ebony Archives Ebony has partnered with Google to offer their archive for free browsing. Each issue appears just as it did at its original time of publication, complete with period advertisements. Use the Search box in the Ebony issue facsimile.
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909
Presents 397 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church
Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves, most born in the last years of the slave regime or during the Civil War, provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms. This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of these narratives, and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79).
African-American Women: Online Archival Collections
A select collection of primary source materials from the Special Collections Department at Duke University.
Black Studies Center (Access through ASU Library)
(1827+) Black Studies Center combines several invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies (1970-2004), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940). Resources are fully cross-searchable and include scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and supporting materials.
Malcolm X: A Research Site This is a comprehensive website on the life and legacy of Malcolm X.
Minority Health and Health Equity Archive Welcome to The Minority Health and Health Equity Archive, an electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy. It is offered as a no-charge resource to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers interested in the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities. The goal of the Archive is to advance the use of new digital technologies to promote trans-disciplinary scholarship on race, ethnicity and disparities research designed to achieve health equity.
"The Negro Motorist/Traveler Green Book", 1936 - 1967 Digital facsimiles of the preeminent travel resource for Africans-Americans as they navigated around America's segregationist policies and Jim Crow laws
Taken from the Library of Congress' American Memory website, the almost seven hours of recorded interviews took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. Twenty-three interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom
Archives & Primary Sources - General
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library.
A rapidly growing collection of documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures and maps. Some of the collections now available are: Pioneering Women; African American Perspectives; California Gold; Civil War Photographs; America in the Great Depression; and many others in the Library of Congress.
Civil Rights Documentation Project - A Mississippi site which includes transcripts of oral history interviews, a civil rights timeline, and bibliography
Digital History This site includes: a U.S. history e-textbook; over 400 annotated documents, primary sources on slavery, Mexican American and Native American history, and U.S. political, social, and legal history; short essays on the history of film, ethnicity, private life, and technology; multimedia exhibitions, an audio archive including speeches and book talks by historians, and a visual archive with hundreds of historical maps and images. The site's Ask the HyperHistorian feature allows users to pose questions to professional historians.
Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The National Archives web site includes descriptions of NARA facilities; copies of publications such as finding aids; and some Federal records regulations. The agency is working to improve access to the contents of the archives and this site should become increasingly valuable.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 2700 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources. Coverage is worldwide.
America: History and Life
(1954+) Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.
African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902 This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion
African History and Culture, 1540 - 1921: Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, African History and Culture, 1540-1921, is a comprehensive collection of fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera covering the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. All areas of Africa and important adjacent regions are covered.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers( Primarily the Twentieth Century) A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Newspapers covered are: Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro American; Chicago Defender; Cleveland Call And Post; Los Angeles Sentinel; New York Amsterdam News; Norfolk Journal And Guide; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburg Courier
Black Drama The Black Drama Collection contains around 1000 plays by more than 170 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Coverage: 1850-Present. Part 1: North America, 1800-1950; Part 2: North America,1960-1990; Part 3: African and Caribbean Drama, 20th Century
Black Studies Center Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and reference books. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, includingThe Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Declassified Documents Reference System - US
(1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I-II (1857-1877)
(1857-1877) Indexes full-text of Harper's Weekly, probably the only consistent, comprehensive, weekly chronological record of world-wide events of the late 19th century. Covers front-line Civil War reports, the re-election of Lincoln, & Reconstruction.
Empire Online This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Literature and Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007
Lexis-Nexis Congressional (1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-63 Provides historians and political scientists withdirect access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration. Contains 30,000 original documents, as well as five essays on the Macmillan Administration.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.
Periodical Archive Online (1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990
Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.
Times ( of London) Digital Archive, 1785 - 2009): The Times (of London) Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of The Times; a resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. The Times for several centuries has bes considered by many to be the paper of record for the English-speaking world.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Voyages Database): The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.
Who Speaks for the Negro? An archival collection of interviews conducted for Robert Penn Warren's seminal book. The reel-to-reel tapes of the interviews are held by the University of Kentucky and Yale University. These interviews are now digitized and available via the web.
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000 This database contains: 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, altogether these document projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites. 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website.
Evaluating Primary Source Sites on the Internet
Using Primary Sources on the Web ( from ALA/RUSA)
Evaluating Primary Sources ( From American Memory)How To Read a Primary Source ( from the University of Iowa)
Guidelines for Evaluating Historical Websites
Who: Who is the author or sponsor of the website? Is that person or organization named? Is any supporting documentation available?
What: What is the mission or purpose of the website? Is it clearly articulated? What kinds of materials are on the website? Are they properly cited and acknowledged? What is the document format on the web?
Where: Where is the site located? Is there a physical address with phone number and email address for a contact person? Does the site have a .edu, .org, or .com address?
Why: Why does the site exist? Does it have a point of view or opinion? Is it pedagogical or polemic? Does it want something from you?