It is important to provide complete information about your primary or secondary source whether found in a printed source or online. The basic elements to include in a citation for a published print source are: author of the document, title of the document, title of the book if different from the document, name of editor or author of the book, place of publication, publisher, year, and page numbers. The basic elements to include in a citation for an online source are: author of the document, title of the document, title of the web site, author or producer of the web site, url, date (if given) and date accessed. Various style formats such as Chicago, MLA and APA put these elements in different order using different conventions. See the following web sites for further information and examples.
Citation Style Manuals Library Guide - ASU Library
This page that links to many of the most popular citation style formats
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper - Duke University Libraries
Includes examples for both the major formats of citable materials and the respective style manual citations.
For an automated service to help format your citations, try Son of Citation Machine from the Landmark Project. It is very easy to use and accurate
Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States: Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States: General Information Leaflet, Number 17 Introduction; Elements of Citations to Records of Federal Agencies; Guidelines for Citing Textual Records; Guidelines for Citing Microform Records; Guidelines for Citing Nontextual Records; Guidelines for Citing Electronic Records; Guidelines for Citing Records in Affiliated Archives; A Note on Citing Digitized Documents Available at NARA's World Wide Web Site
For Additional Refworks Information: RefWorks LibGuide
RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to create and manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles. More information about RefWorks
Use of RefWorks requires users to sign up for an individual account at their Website. Keep your Refworks UserID and password handy, and always authenticate from off-campus by entering through the ASU authentication page. First-time users must subscribe for an individual account from this page before accessing your citation management software.
Keep your UserID and password safe! ASU does not have access to the RefWorks system to reset passwords. If you lose your password, follow the reset prompt on the authentication page (link listed above).
Create your own RefWorks account now.
Creating Your Citations Database
Once logged into RefWorks, there are a number of ways to enter your citations: