Login to LibApps


Sociology: Article Databases

Library and information resources for sociology students and faculty

Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts  Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Google Scholar Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive in any way and there are no summaries or abstracts. For best results use Advanced Search (the arrow at the end of the search box).

SocIndex with Fulltext : SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Academic Search Premier (also known as Ebscohost): A basic general index that covers all disciplines, although not comprehensively. Be sure to click the box for "scholarly peer reviewed articles".

PsycInfo Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics,education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.

Web of Science Interdisciplinary, useful functions include cited reference searching and finding related records

Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Criminal Justice Abstracts Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.

Dissertations & Theses Identifies doctoral dissertations and masters theses, includes some international but mostly U.S and Canada; full text PDF files online for most doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses

Hours and Locations