Login to LibApps


Sociology: Human Rights

Library and information resources for sociology students and faculty

New Report

Web Resources

Suggested Web Resources

Amnesty International - Library Page  "   This website contains news; features; actions; video and audio; information about countries, campaigns and issues. Amnesty International also produces hundreds of reports, press releases, appeals for action and newsletters each year and these are available in the Library."

Bayefsky.com Bayefsky.com was designed for the purpose of enhancing the implementation of the human rights legal standards of the United Nations. Accessibility to UN human rights norms by individuals everywhere is fundamental to their successful realization. The information provided herein encompasses a range of data concerning the application of the UN human rights treaty system by its monitoring treaty bodies since their inauguration in the 1970's.

Google Scholar  This allows you to search the Internet for academic articles and related resources. Some of these will be available for full text (for FREE) by clicking on the Get It@ASU links.

Human Rights Organizations Database  " The Human Rights Organizations Database is HRI's most comprehensive listing of institutions working in the field of human rights. Some records in this database can be traced back over 25 years to the establishment of HRI. These historical documents may be unvalidated but the majority of the more recent material is updated regularly. The Human Rights Organizations Database currently holds over 10,000 records. Its tables can be searched by name, type, issues addressed, countries the organization works in and other such criteria."

Human Rights Watch Human Rights Watch researchers conduct fact-finding investigations into human rights abuses in all regions of the world and provides extensive coverage in local and international media.

Human Security Gateway  "The Human Security Gateway is a research and information database regrouping electronic and bibliographic resources on human security. The Gateway is an initiative of the Human Security Report Project"

ILS Web Sites: Metapages - Harvard Law School Library  A fantastic meta-site for links to web resources covering international law, foreign law, country -specific information, and law in individual nations.

International Center for the Legal Protection of Human Rights Over 2,000 summaries of significant human rights decisions are available, from both domestic Commonwealth courts, and from tribunals applying international human rights law such as the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the European Court of Human Rights and many more.

International Crisis Group Research Resources  Contains three searchable databases:  CrisisWatch database;  Conflict Histories; and Map database as well as other useful research resources.  " The International Crisis Group is now generally recognised as the world’s leading independent, non-partisan, source of analysis and advice to governments, and intergovernmental bodies like the United Nations, European Union and World Bank, on the prevention and resolution of deadly conflict.

Moving Here  Moving Here explores, records and illustrates why people came to England over the last 200 years and what their experiences were and continue to be. It offers free access, for personal and educational use, to an online catalogue of versions of original material related to migration history from local, regional and national archives, libraries and museums.

NewsLink This is the premier site for links to the current webpages of newspapers throughout the world  

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)  A State Department list of Human Rights-related NGOs including special Law Centers and University programs.

 Political Science Resources   This UK site "is a gateway to most significant resources relevant to the study of politics and government."  It is certainly not exclusive to the United Kingdom and attempts to be comprehensive in scope.  Well worth looking at.

Resources for the Study of International Relations and Foreign Affairs - Vincent Ferraro site:  An excellent comprehensive site covering US international relations and foreign affairs during the Twentieth Century.  Click on the Documents internal link to go directly to that section.

Univerity of Minnesota Human Rights Library Houses one of the largest collections of more than eighty-five thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. The site also provides access to more than four thousands links and a unique search device for multiple human rights sites.

Women's Human Rights Resources Programme  " The Women's Human Rights Resources Programme (WHRR) collects, organizes and disseminates information on women's human rights law to facilitate research, teaching and cooperation. The information introduces women's human rights law in general, emphasizes selected international and Canadian topics, and explores the interconnections between domestic and international human rights law.

Hours and Locations