Login to LibApps


Speech and Hearing Sciences: Course SHS 500 Handout

The scientific field of human communication;providing clinical services in speech-language pathology and audiology.

PubMed Search History - Annotated

To review search strategy demonstrated during the instruction session, please scroll to the bottom of the Search History appearing below.

Scan the Search Strategy from bottom to top. I have annotated the first five search sets explaining how to enter, the rationale, and the advantages and disadvantages of each search strategy.

I hope that you find this useful as you prepare your PICO and search strategies.

PICO #1 In the elderly at risk for falls, is tai chi effective in reducing the risk and preventing falls compared with _______________?

PICO #2 In children with severe hearing loss, are cochlear implants effective in outcomes compared with hearing aids?

Search

Add to builder

Query

Items found

#109

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Meta-Analysis

3

#115

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial; Evaluation Studies; Multicenter Study; Validation Studies

446

#114

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial; Evaluation Studies; Multicenter Study

439

#113

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial; Evaluation Studies

415

#112

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial

389

#111

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Comparative Study

385

#108

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh]

2122

#110

Add

Search child [mh] cochlear implants [mh] hearing aids [mh] Filters: Systematic Reviews

64

#107

Add

Search children [ti] cochlear [ti] implants [ti] hearing [ti] aids [ti]

47

#106

Add

Search children cochlear implants hearing aids

2427

#105

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial; Multicenter Study; Validation Studies

27

#104

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial; Multicenter Study

27

#103

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Comparative Study; Controlled Clinical Trial

18

#102

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Comparative Study

 

See above, *Using “or” to combine several study design limits will retrieve articles reporting on single research studies using various study designs.

14

#97

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96

174

#101

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Clinical Trial

 

*Limits results to any research study on a particular topic that used a clinical trial study design.

49

#100

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Randomized Controlled Trial

 

*Limits results to any research study on a particular topic that used  a randomized controlled trail study design.

36

#99

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Systematic Reviews

 

*Limits results to any systematic review, which provides a systematic review of  research studies on a particular topic.

37

#98

Add

Search ((#93) OR #94) OR #96 Filters: Meta-Analysis

 

*Limits results to any Meta-Analysis which provides a systematic review of research studies on a particular topic with accompanying quantitative data.

8

#96

Add

Search accidental falls [mh] AND tai chi [mh]

 

*Third search strategy limits keyword searching to MeSH subject headings.

When searching using MeSH, authors using other terms for your topic will be mapped to MeSH and, retrievable when you use MeSH.

Advantages – retrieves articles where your MeSH term is a major topic. Retrieves articles mapped for retrieval where a different keyword is used.

Disadvantages – MeSH may not yet be assigned to an article or to a term described by multiple keywords available. You must search all three major search strategies.

88

#95

Add

Search falls [ti] tai [ti] 

 

*Second search strategy limits keyword searching to words in the article title.

Enter search strategy by entering a bracket/ti/bracket after P & I, i.e. [ti]

Advantage – retrieves any records with your keywords in the title only, which increases chances the keywords are major topics and related as P & I.

Quickly retrieves highly relevant articles, if they exist. 

Disadvantages – various authors may have used a different keyword.  Keep a list of synonyms for your keywords as you learn them and insert them into the search.

26

#94

Add

Search falling tai   

 

Continuing to use * first search strategy, but inserting a different synonym for P or I. Continue to switch out different synonyms as you learn them.

54

#93

Add

Search falls tai    

 

*First search strategy (SS) uses keywords for P & I familiar to you.

PubMed “ANDS” your two terms without requiring you to enter the word “And” between them.

PubMed searches for your words in the title, abstract, & subject heading list.

Advantage – retrieves any records with your two words. Good snapshot of database.

Disadvantage – Does not guarantee terms are major topics.  Only retrieves articles with your keywords; authors may use other terminology/keywords.

164

 

Course SHS 500 Handout

ASU Library    OBJECTIVES
• Identify the ASU Library home page, search within site
• Highlight Ask A Librarian  CHAT
• Locate Speech and Hearing LibGuide 
•  Sign Up for  ILLiad acct for accessing  Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services.    Sign up for RefWorks.     

 ASU Home page   Click on Libraries

ASU Library URL or Bookmark   Multiple Library locations, if wishing to use onsite resources.  

Tuition pays for access to research databases and research journal artilces  only available through licenced subscriptions and not free on the Internet/Google.

ASK A LIBRARIAN   |  CHAT
For quick answers to your questions, use this service. Subject Librarians are not always available to respond to questions within your urgent same-day deadlines or within your desired timelines.
 

Get Technical Help  |
 ASK A LIBRARIAN, if you cannot get into an E-Journal, E-book or databases. Some problems can be easily resolved. 
 If unable to resolve, complete an ASU Library HelpStar Request  
 If computer/software/access problems continue contact, ASU Computer Commons Help Center, 480-965-6500, 24/7

 Books   |  At One Search, click Catalog or within gray toolbar, click ASU Catalog to look for books

  •  Search book title, Health Care Resources on the Internet
  • 
  •  Options for obtaining book
  •  IfASU book is electronic, click, logon using ASURITE. 
  •  If ASU book is print, at right select Click Request, select preferred library location for pick up. 
  •  If ASU book is print and you live outside of the Phoenix Metropolitan area, click Request, select Distance Education, and book will be mailed to the address provided when registering, a return label is provided.  Learn more at http://lib.asu.edu/librarychannel/2010/10/05/bookshipment/   & http://lib.asu.edu/services/request/distance-education-book-request 
  • If book is not owned by ASU, request through your free ILLiad account, (which you will set up).

  Journal Title Lookup 

  •   At top One Search’s gray tool bar, click Journals 
  • 
  •   Does not search simultaneously for both electronic and print.
  •   At Electronic Journal, title begins with, enter journal title, and click Find Journal.  
  •   Search for journal title, American Journal of Nursing.
  •  Explain multiple entry points to electronic collections providing electronic access to this title.
  •  Click a e-collection offering your desired year, then select year, volume, and then page, and PDF. 
  • If journal is not electronic, scroll down to Print Journal and enter your journal title.   Demo using American Journal of Nursing
  •  If ASU owns the print journal in your desired year,  useILLiad  or  http://lib.asu.edu/services/request/distance-education-book-request
     

Getting articles from the ASU Campuses
1. Article/chapter scans may be requested through theILLiad request form regardless of campus affiliation and material location.
2. On ILLiad’s Main Menu, under “New Request” click on the type of material you want.
3. Enter as much information as possible. 

  •   Use the Notes Field for additional information.

 4. Click "Submit Request."
5. DO NOT submit multiple items on one request form.



Request library resources not owned by ASU using ILLiad Account – Set up free account 

  •   Set up account during instruction session. Minimize ILLiad.

 

At Most Used Resources, selectCINAHL, search for the article title words you remember,“Comparison of CINAHL.”

  •   To retrieve article go to left hand margin and click on electronically received articles.

BOOK OWNED BY ASU but YOU WANT IT TRANSFERRED FROM ONE CAMPUS TO ANOTHER

  •  At Catalog, search for book title “Men’s Health on the Internet.”
  • 
  •   If ASU owns the book, at left select, Click Request.
  •  Many times you will have to authenticate with your ASURite ID and password.
  •  Options for obtaining book.

                 - IfASU book is electronic, click, logon using ASURITE. 
                 - If ASU book is print, at right select Click Request, select location for pick up.

                -  If ASU book is print and you live outside of the Phoenix Metropolitan area, click Request, select Distance Education, you’ll receive the  book   in the mail with a return label included. Learn more at the Library Channel and  http://lib.asu.edu/services/request/distance-education-book-request   

  • Then click on the submit button.
  •  Get help by click on ‘Get Help’ on the gray toolbar.

 

Databases | Background on Cochlear Implants  | MedlinePlus | Reliable consumer information  developed by the National Library of Medicine

Databases | Background on Cochlear Implants || MDConsult   |  http://lib.asu.edu | scroll down to "Most Used Resources"

What is evidence-based practice?

Formulating a question | use the PICO acryonym  | In profoundly deaf children are cochlear implants effective in enhancing speech perception?

 Databases | Most Used Resources | PubMed

Search History

 

Search Most Recent Queries Time Result
#13 Search ((#2) OR #3) OR #7 Limits: Humans, Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, Comparative Study, Controlled Clinical Trial, Evaluation Studies, Multicenter Study, Validation Studies, English, Child: 6-12 years 05:38:54 182
#12 Search ((#2) OR #3) OR #7 Limits: Humans, Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, English, Child: 6-12 years 05:37:46 36
#11 Search ((#2) OR #3) OR #7 Limits: Humans, English, Systematic Reviews, Child: 6-12 years 05:37:20 16
#10 Search ((#2) OR #3) OR #7 Limits: Humans, Meta-Analysis, English, Child: 6-12 years 05:36:49 1
#9 Search ((#2) OR #3) OR #7 Limits: Humans, English, Child: 6-12 years 05:36:33 773
#8 Search ((#2) OR #3) OR #7 05:35:57 2385
#7 Search "Deafness"[Mesh] AND "Cochlear Implants"[Mesh] 05:34:09 2362
#3 Search deafness [ti] cochlear [ti] implants [ti] 05:32:06 38
#2 Search deafness [ti] cochlear [ti] implant [ti] 05:31:38 50
#1 Search deafness cochlear implant 05:31:09 3777


 

Search Strategies –  The Default, The Title,  The Synonyms,  MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)

The Default Strategy – enter KWs into search box and searches for keywords anywhere in title, abstract.

Advantage– retrieve all articles containing KWs.

Disadvantage– cannot only retrieve articles with KWs as major focus and may require too much time to sort for relevant articles. 
  
Sample  PubMed         deafness  cochlear  implant

  

Title  Strategy – enter KWs into Title 

 Advantages - a good “getting started” strategy that retrieves highly relevant articles quickly with the added bonus of the author’s pick of references at the end

Disadvantages– might miss articles if author/researcher uses other synonyms for KWs.

Sample PubMed       deafness [ti] cochlear [ti] implants [ti]

        
 

Synonym Strategywith Title – replace KWs with others used by authors and researchers in titles, abstracts, and articles.

Advantages – need to search KWs to retrieve articles not assigned SH.

Disadvantage – need to search all synonyms to avoid missing relevant articles.

Sample PubMed       deaf [ti] cochlear [ti] implants [ti]

 

Controlled vocabulary Strategy – called CINAHL Headings/Subject Headings (SH) or MeSH in PubMed.  Leave box checked at search box and enter KWs. CINAHL matches KW to subject heading.

  •  Advantage – don’t have to search all synonyms,don’t retrieve articles without KWs as main focus,and retrieves “related” topics linked to KWs.
  •  Disadvantage– must search both Default and Subject Headings (SH) strategies because of delay in assigning SH for a variety of reasons. The most recent cutting edge acronyms or KWs may not yet have assigned SH.


Sample PubMed       deafness [mh] AND  cochlear implants [mh]

 

 
 
RefWorks | Move selected search sets to RefWorks folders

Ask a Librarian

Hours and Locations