Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Electrical Engineering

A guide to resources for Electrical Engineering

Articles (Journal) and Conference Papers

Databases that contain references to journal articles and conference papers:

  • Compendex (EICompendex)
    An index to articles for the entire spectrum of engineering, including journals, conference papers; some older patents and technical reports may be retrieved. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, quality control, and engineering management issues.  Use the "Full Text" and "Get It @ ASU" links to determine the full text availability at ASU.
     
  • INSPEC
    An index to to journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and dissertations in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering; it also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.  Use the "Full Text" and "Get It @ ASU" links to determine the full text availability at ASU.

    NOTE:  Search Compendex and INSPEC together by selecting both databases on the search platform
     
  • IEEEXplore Digital Library
    Contains full-text of journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical and ElectronicsEngineers (IEEE) and Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).  Use the "Full Text" links to see the document.    IEEE has recently added material from other societies to the digital library; please note that the "Full Text" links on these items will not display the document - instead use the "Get @ ASU" button to determine the document's availability at ASU. 

    Self Paced Tutorials Online from IEEE--Short tutorials on how to get the most out of your IEEEXplore searches.
     
  • ACM Guide to Computing Literature
    This link will take you to the ACM Digital Library which only contains publications from the ACM.  To expand your results to cover other major publishers in the computing science area, use the search box in the top right of the screen or click on the Advanced Search link just below to enter the search;  at the top of the results list will be a link to "Expand Your Search to the ACM Guide to Computing Literature". 
     

Interdisciplinary resources:

  • Web of Science 
    Database covering articles in over 15,000 journals from almost every subject; business and education are the two most notable areas that have limited coverage.  Although subject searching is available, this database is constructed as a bibliometric source of citation data and information.  (Who is citing whom and how many times?) 
     
  • Google Scholar 
    Enables you to search the web specifically for scholarly literature; retrieves mostly journal articles but conference papers, books, theses and dissertations, preprints, technical reports and patents may also be included in results.  Covers all areas. 

Books

To Find Books in the ASU Library:

  • Use the ASU Library's One Search

    As the name implies, "Library One Search" locates items from across the ASU Library's collections and includes not just books but also articles from scholarly journals, trade magazines and newspapers, chapters from reference books, dissertations/theses, maps, data sets, photographs,  government documents and much more.   New material is being added almost every day. 

    Search titles, keywords or authors in the single search box; an advanced search feature is also available.  When the results list is displayed, use the Content Type option in left column to limit the results to books/e-books.  
     
    • If the book is available in print, clicking on the title will take you to the ASU Library Catalog where you'll in which library the book is located, it's call number and whether it is checked out.   Use the Request on the catalog record to recall a book that is checked out or to have a book shipped to the ASU Library of your choice. 
       
    • If the book is available online, clicking on the title or on the "Full Text" link will take you directly to the book. 

To Find Books In Other Libraries:   
 

 

If the ASU Library doesn't have the book that you need, request the book via our Interlibrary Loan Service.

 

Electronic Books (E-Books):

Many e-books can be found through the ASU Library Catalog.

To limit your search to e-books:

  • After entering your keywords and viewing the results screen
  • Select Full Text Online from the availability subheading on the right hand side and then select Books from the Resource Type heading.

Results will include a link to access the book.

*Many of our electronic books are listed in the catalog however, we also have several e-book collection in which you can use the native search engine for these collections:

ebrary

Books from major publishers in all subject areas.

e-books on EBSCOhost

Books from major publishers in all subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A  collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

IEEEXplore

Full text of many books published by IEEE in addition to journal and conference articles and standards

Knovel
Over 2,000 science and engineering handbooks in which you can find facts, formula and property data.

MyiLibrary

Books from major publishers, organizations and government agencies in all subject areas.

Safari Books Online

Primarily books related to computer programming and other information technology areas.

SpringerLink

Full-text of selected journals, books, book series, and reference works and the Online Archives Collection from science publisher Springer.

Synthesis Digital Library
Innovative online information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Dictionaries:

Encyclopedias:

 

Handbooks:

Handbooks provide a summary of a specific subject and frequently include data compilations and formulas. Handbooks are also a great place to look for  "quick facts" about a topic.

Knovel
A full text, online collection of over 5000 handbooks, data collections, and encyclopedias for science and engineering. This collection includes:

Print handbooks in the ASU Library:

Search the library catalog using keywords such as

Examples:

Patents

A patent is a government grant bestowing certain property rights on the inventor; these rights usually permit the inventor to exclude others from making, using, or selling the invention.

For more information about patents and finding/research patents please see the ASU Library's

Patents Research Guide

For more detailed assistance you may consider consulting the Arizona State Library's 

Patent and Trademark Resource Center

Standards

For more detailed information about standards at the ASU Library, please see the Standards Guide

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Full text of IEEE standards available in IEEEXplore

ANSI (American National Standards Institute) 

SEMI (semi.org; "global industry association serving the manufacturing supply chain for the micro- and nano-electronics industries")

ISO (International Organization for Standardization) 

 

Search Engines for Standards

IHS Global Engineering

ANSI Search (formerly NSSN)

Tech Street

Technical reports

To identify what technical reports exist on a particular topic, use:

 

 

  • Geological Survey (USGS)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Science.gov
    Searches over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites.   Covers all types of government publications in addition to technical reports. 
     
  • Worldwide Science
    A single search interface for freely available English-language documents on the web; participating databases include those from: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, and United States (science.gov).

To find the full text of a specific report:

  • Some technical reports are freely available on the Web at the sponsoring agency's website, try:
    • Using Google or another Internet search engine to find the report either by title, author, or report number
    • Go to the sponsoring agency's website and browse/search the site
       
  • TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library) 
    An ongoing project to digitize technical reports issued prior to 1975.  As of September 2008, mostly NBS (National Bureau of Standards) and some AEC (Atomic Energy Commission) reports were available.  U.S. Bureau of Mines may appear soon. 
     
  • The ASU Library have some technical reports in the collections of Noble Science & Engineering Library (Tempe Campus) and in our Government Documents Department (3rd floor, Hayden Library, Tempe Campus) in either print, microfiche, and/or CD. If the document(s) you need is not on the Web, check for availability by calling either Gov Docs (480-965-3390) or Noble Science & Engineering Library (480-965-2600) or using our Ask a Librarian's service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian.
     
  • If the document(s) you need is not available in the ASU Library, ASU faculty/students may submit an Interlibrary Loan request

Hours and Locations