To identify what technical reports exist on a particular topic, use:
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Contains over 2 million research citations from 1964 to the present. In addition to technical reports, also covers some computer products, software, video and audio material. Covers all subject areas of U.S. federally sponsored research and select foreign governments.
- Department of Defense (DoD):
- Department of Energy (DOE):
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Geological Survey (USGS)
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Searches over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites. Covers all types of government publications in addition to technical reports.
- Worldwide Science
A single search interface for freely available English-language documents on the web; participating databases include those from: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, and United States (science.gov).
To find the full text of a specific report:
- Some technical reports are freely available on the Web at the sponsoring agency's website, try:
- Using Google or another Internet search engine to find the report either by title, author, or report number
- Go to the sponsoring agency's website and browse/search the site
- TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
An ongoing project to digitize technical reports issued prior to 1975. As of September 2008, mostly NBS (National Bureau of Standards) and some AEC (Atomic Energy Commission) reports were available. U.S. Bureau of Mines may appear soon.
- The ASU Library have some technical reports in the collections of Noble Science & Engineering Library (Tempe Campus) and in our Government Documents Department (3rd floor, Hayden Library, Tempe Campus) in either print, microfiche, and/or CD. If the document(s) you need is not on the Web, check for availability by calling either Gov Docs (480-965-3390) or Noble Science & Engineering Library (480-965-2600) or using our Ask a Librarian's service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian.
- If the document(s) you need is not available in the ASU Library, ASU faculty/students may submit an Interlibrary Loan request