Login to LibApps


Family and Human Development: Article Databases

This guide is primarily for students and faculty in the Family and Human Development program in the School of Social and Family Dynamics.

Article Databases

PsycInfo: ALL areas of psychology and related fields, including child and family development. Once you do a search, the handy tabs at the top of the list of articles makes it easy to click on "peer-reviewed journals" to just get that publication type.

Academic Search Premier (also known as Ebscohost): A basic general index that covers all disciplines, although not comprehensively. Be sure to click the box for "scholarly peer reviewed articles".

Sociological Abstracts: Covers sociological aspects of family, children, etc.

Google Scholar: Not the same as "regular" Google! Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive.

SocIndex with Fulltext : SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Web of Science (sometimes known as Social Science Citation Index): interdisciplinary, useful functions include cited reference searching and finding related records

Dissertations & Theses: identifies doctoral dissertations and masters theses, includes some international but mostly U.S and Canada; full text PDF files online for most doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses

Dissertations & Theses at ASU:  can get full text PDF files of ASU doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses

Social Services Abstracts: more social work than sociology or family studies, but the two areas sometimes overlap

Criminal Justice Abstracts: crime, justice, etc.

WorldCat: A searchable global union catalog containing records of books from many libraries. Can be used to identify books that ASU does not own. You could then easily borrow those books by using our Interlibrary Loan service.

Hours and Locations