Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Education

Resources for education students and faculty at ASU.

Finding Children's & Young Adult Literature

There are children's and young literature collections on the Polytechnic, Tempe and West campuses.  To locate specific titles or to find a book on a specific topic search the catalog section of One Search. You can find the One search box on the library home page.

If you are trying to find books there are several different ways to go. You can enter your topic followed by juvenile (horses juvenile), your topic followed by children's books (horses children's books) or you can search your topic Horse and have the search results display; on the right column look for "collections" and select children's and young adult to identify and display titles in one of the 3 collections.  You can also select the campus/library location in the filters. 

Databases

For more information about this area look at the Children's & Young Adult Literature Library Guide.

The databases listed here can be used to locate articles about children's & young adult literature and it's use in teaching. to identify titles by topic, genre or age level and to find book reviews.

Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. If you have never searched the ERIC database or want to review how to search, view this tutorial which walks you through the basics of searching and limiting search results in the ERIC database.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
This database contains critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. 

Hours and Locations