Login to LibApps


Human Rights: Primary Sources

Human Rights Documents

 

United Nations Documents  Effective 1 January 2005, all the United Nations documents are available online free of charge in six official languages via the Official Document System of the United Nations

Acess UN  Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications, including resolutions, treaties, and UN periodicals. Useful for research on international problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian nature.

How to Cite United Nations Documents and Publications  Here is an online guide to citing UN documents from Readex.  Please note that this is only a guide, the final format depends on what style guide you are using.

Primary Sources available on the Internet

 

Internet Primary Source Sites Relating to Human Rights



Primary Source Sites available through the ASU Library

 

Access UN Access UN is a searchable database of United Nations documents, with publications accessible in microfiche. Access UN has a user-friendly serach interface.

Center for Research Libraries CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.


Declassified Documents Reference System - US
(1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc

 Homeland Security Digital Library  Provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies on topics related to homeland security policy and strategy.


Lexis-Nexis Congressional (1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

LexisNexis Congressional Research Digital Collection  (2004+) contains background material used by Congress: CRS reports (from 2004 to present) and Committee Prints (from 2004 to present). Congressional committee prints are publications issued by congressional committees on topics related to their legislative or research activities. Committee Prints include: monographs, investigative field reports, draft reports and bills, analysis of bills, statistical materials, confidential staff reports, and hearing publications, etc. Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports are in-depth research reports that provide background information for Congressional investigations and legislative proposals.

Universal Human Rights Index  The Universal Human Rights Index (Index) is designed primarily to facilitate access to human rights documents issued by the UN human rights treaty bodies and the special procedures of the Human Rights Council.

 


Primary Source Sites on the Internet


UNITED STATES


Archives & Primary Sources - General


Avalon Project at the Yale Law School (3,000 BCE+)
Selected digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.



Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 2700 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources. Coverage is worldwide.


Resources for the Study of International Relations and Foreign Affairs - Vincent Ferraro site: An excellent comprehensive site covering US international relations and foreign affairs during the Twentieth Century. Click on the Documents internal link to go directly to that section.

 

Chronologically: 1900 - 1949


Franklin D. Roosevelt Library Digital Archives: A growing body of presidential and personal papers related to the FDR presidency. Included are the President's Secretary File(PSF); British & German Diplomatic files; US-Vatican Diplomatic files, Fireside chats; and the Hackett Papers.


The Holocaust History Project: The Holocaust History Project is a free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial. Another resource for documents on the Holocaust, Israel & Zionism & Jewish Communities is the Academic Guide to Jewish History.

 



Chronologically: 1950 - 1999


Civil Rights Documentation Project - A Mississippi site which includes transcripts of oral history interviews, a civil rights timeline, and bibliography.


Cold War International History Project This site contains transcribed primary sources on the history of the Cold War. Many of the items are from original or compilations from previously inaccessible sources in the former Communist world.


Declassified Documents Reference System - US (1941-1992) (Access through ASU Library)
Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc. 


 

WESTERN EUROPE


Eurodocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
This site (Harold Lee Library, Brigham Young University) has pointers to documents and full text works for Medieval and Renaissance Europe, Europe as a region, and over twenty countries.The time frame is Medieval to the present. The section for Germany includes a broad range of documents, from the 95 theses of Martin Luther to the 1990 treaty on German unification and some contemporary reports on racism.

Hours and Locations