Skip to main content

CHM 108: Chemistry and Society Online (ISTL)

This guide was included in the Winter 2010 ISTL article "Five Minute Screencasts -- The Super Tool for Science and Engineering Librarians" by Olivia Bautista Sparks (http://www.istl.org/10-winter/tips.html). CHM 108 students see blackboard for new link.

Part 5

Searching for Journal Articles

Academic Search Ultimate (EbscoHost)
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly articles.

For the Lab Exercise -

Use the search terms Alternative fuels and cars

Compare and contrast the databases below with a Google Search

For the Annotated Bibliography -

Use a database of your choice to search for articles on your topic.

Use the Get It button or Full Text link to access full text articles.

Opposing Viewpoints
Full-text database providing different points of view on controversial topics. Indexes viewpoint essays and some scholarly articles.
Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Does not access all publishers!

Last updated: Nov 3, 2023 10:12 AM
URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/chm108
Print page

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.