Skip to main content

Religion and Conflict

Stats and Policy

Association of Religion Data Archives: Provides statistical data about religious communities.

Global Peace Index (the Institute for Economics and Peace): "state of peace" ranks, country comparisons, and more.

Global Legal Information Network (GLIN): A public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.

Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre: Operated by the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC); information and analysis on internal displacement in some 50 countries.

International Relations and Security Network: A free public service offered by the Center for Security Studies (Zurich, Switzerland); provides a wide range of news, statistics and analysis of current events.


Pew Research Global Attitudes Project: Public opinion surveys based on interviews conducted around the world on a broad array of subjects, including religion, wars and international conflicts, and politics.

Pew Research Religion and Public Life Project: Launched in 2001, the project seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. Includes surveys, demographic studies and other social science studies.

Access UN(1996+) Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications, including resolutions, treaties, and UN periodicals. Useful for research on international problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian nature.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU): Provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. 

Gale Reference Library: Use Nation and World section to find sources like Cities of the World, Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies.

NationMaster.com"NationMaster compiles statistics from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD"

OECD Studies (1988+): Provides access to the OECD and IEA statistical databases, journals, monographs, annual reports, working papers and reference documents produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Statistical data can be downloaded for use in spreadsheets.

ICPSR: An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations; provides data, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

Country Studies: Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

LexisNexis Statistical Insight: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.

Migration Information Source: A project of the Migration Policy Institute; see resources for migration policy.

Nonprofit Collaboration Database: Provides models and best practices of exceptional nonprofit collaboration efforts around the world. Many relevant topics, including post-conflict countries.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Studies: Includes listings of publications, some available for downloading in various formats.

iPoll Databank: A comprehensive, up-to-date and the largest archives of US public opinion information. 1935 to present.

Polling the Nations: Compilation of questions and responses from national, state, local and special surveys covering subjects from social and political concerns to economic issues. Information is gathered from professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers,businesses and associations.

Small Arms Survey: "An independent research project located at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland. It serves as the principal international source of public information on all aspects of small arms and as a resource for governments, policy-makers, researchers, and activists."

UNdata: A World of Information: The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) offers numerous databases, tables and glossaries covering a wide range of themes.

World Development Indicators Online (WDI) : Data source on the global economy. Contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data since 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Hours and Locations