Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


ASU 101/TEL 101/TEL 194 for Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College

Targeted to first year education students in TEL 101/TEL 194

Library Search Engines

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!


Google Scholar via ASU Library
Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The ASU Library subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. 

Article Databases


Academic Search Premier

This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has loads of full text.  For help with searching Academic Search Premier check out this interactive tutorial: Academic Search Premier: Introduction

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

This database is especially useful if you are still deciding which topic to research. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword. The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is it provides essays supporting differing points of view for each topic. All of the essays are available full text.

It also provides other useful full text information about each issue such as relevant articles from encyclopedias, magazines and scholarly journals. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to find these.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information current issues in the news. It is the most reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers. This link takes you to the CQ Library, from there select CQ Researcher.

 Nexis Uni

LexisNexis includes newspapers from around the world, including the New York Times (but not the Arizona Republic).

Arizona Republic

Search the Arizona Republic from 1999-present.

Alt-Press Watch

Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

ERIC

Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. An ERIC tutorial can be found here: ERIC Tutorial 

Education Full Text

Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations,vocational education, etc.

PsycInfo

Includes PsycLIT. Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics,education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.

Online Reference Collections

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Contains a large number of full text encyclopedias and other reference sources. Another great place to find background information.
  • Sage eReference
    An online collection of over 40 reference titles from Sage Publications. It is especially good for the social sciences and sciences.Credo Reference Online 
    Provides full-text online access to many reference books in all major subjects.
  • CQ Researcher
    Great summary reports on all kinds of topical issues. Each report is devoted to one issue of general interest. Topics include abortion, climate change, technology, terrorism and many others. Each issue contains an overview of the topic, a chronology, pro/con arguments & more.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    Online version of well-known academic encyclopedia.

Helpful Handouts

Hours and Locations