Login to LibApps


Finding ASU History: Digital Materials

Basic tools for finding ASU history materials

Archivist

Shannon Walker's picture
Shannon Walker
Contact:
400 E Van Buren, #942
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 496-7096 office

ASU Yearbooks

A selection of ASU yearbooks have been digitized by the Arizona State Library and are available on their Arizona Memory Project Site. The following years are available for download and browsing: 1911, 1925, 1926, 1929-1934, 1948-1950, 1956, 1957, 1960-1963, 1967, 1968, 1970-1972. Click here to link to the online yearbooks. 

*Note: Some of the yearbooks are more than 300 pages so they will take a while to load in the viewer!

Digital Materials

ASU General Catalogs

Course descriptions, graduation requirements, and other policies compiled from digitized hardcopy catalogs and the student advising system, 1887-present. Course descriptions from 2007-present are not available at this time. Searchable full text. 

ASU Generations

A general history of ASU delivered in streaming video using vintage motion picture film, video, photographs, and music primarily from the University Archives collections. 16 minutes.

ASU Generations: Homecoming

A history of Homecoming at ASU delivered in streaming video using vintage motion picture film, video, photographs, and music primarily from the University Archives collections. 12:30 minutes. See also the related interview with University Archivist Rob Spindler from The Library Channel.

ASU Polytechnic Campus Photographs

Photographs that document the ASU East/Polytechnic campus and its environs.

ASU West Campus History Project

The collection includes planning reports, memoranda, legislation, speeches, ephemera, fact sheets, and a twentieth-anniversary video, 1977-2009.

Bill Bailey Motion Pictures

Amateur silent motion pictures made by "Varsity" Bill Bailey of the Arizona State University campus (then Arizona State Teacher's College) and the Varsity Inn in 1937 and 1938. The films depict student recreation, campus scenes especially on University Drive and College Avenue, Homecoming parades, and football games at Goodwin Stadium. Boxing and track are also depicted.

Daughter of Earth: Agnes Smedley Online Exhibit

Photos, manuscripts, and other materials from the collections of Agnes Smedley and the famous radical's biographers, Stephen and Janice MacKinnon.

Joyce Finch Oral History Project

Twenty-five interview transcripts regarding members of the United States Cadet Nurse Corps and abstracts of the interviews produced by Elsie Szecsy.

Martin Luther King at Arizona State University 

Martin Luther King Jr.'s speech entitled "Religious Witness for Human Dignity" presented at Goodwin Stadium, Arizona State University on June 3, 1964. Introduction by ASU President G. Homer Durham. This recording is followed by a brief recording of King's remarks to NAACP supporters at the Tanner AME Church in Phoenix earlier in the same day. Related photographs and correspondence of President Durham are included. 

Tom Wright Audio Recordings 

A KCAC radio interview with ASU Philosophy professor Morris Starsky shortly after his termination by the Arizona Board of Regents in June 1970. Starsky is interviewed by host Bill Compton.

The New ASU Story

A comprehensive history of ASU with over 300 downloadable publication-quality photographs.

University Archives Audio and Visual Materials

Audio recordings, motion pictures, and video productions selected from the University Archives collections. Media is added as permissions are secured, and resources for digitization become available.

 

University Archives Specialized Guides and Data Compilations

A collection of detailed guides to archival collections and compilations of university data regarding students, buildings, land, etc.

 

University Archives Index

Digital Photographs. Select "University Archives Index" from the list of databases and add "digital photographs" to your search terms!

 

Did you know?

Dick Jacobs, the original performing Sparky, jumped from the top of a goal post during a stunt in 1953 and was knocked out as he landed on a mattress! He remembered the stunt later at a postgame party!

Dick Jacobs, Peggy Sparkman and Peggy Holiday at Goodwin Stadium, 1952

Hours and Locations