Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Military History, Science & Security

Covers the fields of Military Science, Terrorism & Security Studies

Primary Sources Available through ASU Library

American History in Video  American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.


American Indian History Online
A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.

Civil War Newspapers
This database is from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES FULL-TEXT DATABASES. It contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day.

Declassified Documents Reference System - US
(1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc


HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I-II (1857-1877)
(1857-1877) Indexes full-text of Harper's Weekly, probably the only consistent, comprehensive, weekly chronological record of world-wide events of the late 19th century. Covers front-line Civil War reports, the re-election of Lincoln, & Reconstruction.

Proquest Congressional
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.


Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.


PeriodicalArchive Online
(1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922;  Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer, 1791 - 2003;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respective years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974  This database documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America through letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2009 The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of The Times; a resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

 


Primary Sources Available on the Internet

Archives & Primary Sources - General - U.S.

AMDOCS Documents for the Study of American History  One of several sites listed here that provides full text of documents from the 15th Century on, arranged in chronological order.


American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library.  A rapidly growing collection of documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures and maps. Some of the collections now available are: Pioneering Women; African American Perspectives; California Gold; Civil War Photographs; America in the Great Depression; and many others in the Library of Congress.

Documenting the American South  A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.


Chronology of US Historical Documents  This site from the University of Oklahoma College of Law provides U. S. Historical documents from the Magna Carta to the present.


Foreign Relations of the United States  This State Department web site is a permanent electronic archive of information released prior to January 20, 2001. See www.state.gov for material released since President George W. Bush took office on that date. Online volumes available cover the Truman through Johnson administrations(1945 - 1968).

 War Letters Online:  Letters between soldiers and their loved ones form a natural library of first person and eye witness accounts of war. They are an excellent written record with precise dates covering both the macro and micro scale of the conflict. Our simply aim is to database them, free-to-view online."  This site includes letters from the Civil War, World Wars I & II, and other conflicts



National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) The National Archives web site includes descriptions of NARA facilities; copies of publications such as finding aids; and some Federal records regulations. The agency is working to improve access to the contents of the archives and this site should become increasingly valuable.

Papers of the War Department, 1784 - 1800  Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever. This collection unites copies of the lost files in a digital archive that reconstitutes this invaluable historical resource. 


Perry-Casteneda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of the United States. The categories used by the University of Texas map library are early inhabitants, exploration and settlement, U.S. territorial growth, later historical periods, military history, historical maps of Texas and U.S. cities, and national historic sites. There is a link to other map sites.

United State Army Heritage and Education Center  Starting page for the various digital collections help by the US Army Heritage and Heritage Center.   These include photographs, manuscripts, military manuals and unit histories

Veteran's History Project  The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center, Library of Congress collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.  Coverage for the project spans from World War I through the ongoing Afghan Conflict.

 

19th Century Wars

Civil War


Some of the best sites for the United States deal with the Civil War. See also Documenting the American South.


The American Civil War Home Page
Links to hundreds of resources, including timelines, overviews, images, letters, accounts and diaries, bibliographies, state studies, specific battles and rosters. A good place to start any search for Civil War information.


American Civil War Resources: Civil War materials from the Digital Library & Archives, Virginia Tech Libraries containing letters and diaries from both Union and Confederate soldiers, homefront letters, memoirs, and contemporary research files.


Causes of The Civil War: "This site was founded with the intent of collecting copies of or links to as many primary documents from the period of the secession crisis as is reasonably possible, with the goal of shedding light on the causes of secession, hence of the war."


Civil War Newspapers (Access through ASU Library) This database is from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES FULL-TEXT DATABASES. It contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day.


Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet: A webpage sponsored by Duke University Special Collections Library containing diaries, letters and photographs.

 

Secession Era Editorials Project Currently contains newspaper editorials about the following seminal events: the Nebraska bill debates, Dred Scott, and John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry, and the attack on Massachusetts Senator Charles Sumner by South Carolina representative Preston Brooks.


The U.S. Civil War Center (Louisiana State University)
A collection of web links to indexes, letters, diaries, museums, discussion groups, newspapers, university archives, and Web-accessible documents. The 'historic places' portion leads to information on battlefields, cemeteries, forts, and historic sites.


The Valley of the Shadow: Living the Civil War in Virginia and Pennsylvania
Text and documents dealing with two communities: Chambersburg, Pa., and Staunton, Va. project attempts to find ways to learn about and portray people who left no records other than a few lines in the census, court records and newspapers. Links to related readings available elsewhere on the Internet.


The War of the Rebellion: Both The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies (1880 - 1901) and the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion (1894 - 1922) are available full text online at Cornell University's Making of America site. These are obviously two of the most significant civil war resources.

 

 

20th Century Wars

Wars of the Twentieth Century

Cold War International History Project This site contains transcribed primary sources on the history of the Cold War. Many of the items are from original or compilations from previously inaccessible sources in the former Communist world.


Declassified Documents Reference System - US (1941-1992) (Access through ASU Library)
Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc.

Imperial War Museums - Collections  IWM’s collections cover all aspects of twentieth and twenty-first century conflict involving Britain, the Commonwealth and other former empire countries. They were intended to record the 'toil and sacrifice' of every individual affected by war.  They contain some of the most important technical, social, economic, political, personal and cultural artefacts relating to Britain and its role in twentieth-century conflict. 

The Korean War and its Origins, 1945 - 1953  Documents and other primary Sources from the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library

Nazi Propaganda sites:  The following sites are from reputable repositories or institutions and have primary source materials relating to the propaganda efforts of the National Socialist party and government:  German Propaganda ArchiveThe German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced by Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic; and Nazi Propaganda - U.S Holocaust Memorial Museum; and  EuroDocs: Germany: National Socialism and World War II:  This is an aggregator site which includes site links covering Nazi propaganda as well as the rise of National Socialism and World War II( not all the documents are in German)

The Nuremberg Trials Project  The Harvard Law School Library has approximately one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).  The documents include trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers. 

Parallel History Project on NATO and the Warsaw Pact - provides documentation about the development of NATO and the Warsaw Pact during the Cold War. This site and the Cold War International History Project provide materials documenting the activities of the US' partners and adversaries during the long cold war struggle.

The Vietnam Archive "The Vietnam Archive mission is to collect and preserve the documentary record of the Vietnam War.... The Vietnam Archive currently administers two projects, the Oral History Projectand the Virtual Vietnam Archive. More information about both of these project can be found in their respective sections of this website."


World War I Document Archive: This archive of primary documents from World War I has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). The archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. Also worth looking at is: World War I: Trenches on the Web.


World War II Resources "Primary source materials on the Web" 

Hours and Locations