Login to LibApps

Streaming Video: Linking

Provides descriptions and links to licensed, internet, and pay-per-view streaming video resources

Linking Videos in Course Management Shells

All videos in collections licensed by ASU Library can be used in ASU course management shells (Blackboard, Learning Studio, etc.), syllabi, documents, and other webpages.  Remote (off campus) use of licensed resources requires users to be authenticated into the resource site.  ASU Library manages authentication with a proxy server.  You may need to incorporate this proxy server information into URLs you use in your course management shell.

PLEASE NOTE:  Distributors provide the links and embed codes displayed in their sites and referred to in these instructions.  ASU Library has no control over these links and cannot assure that links and codes will function across all browsers.

An alternative to these instructions is to link to the permanent link displayed in the bottom right corner of the title's record in ASU Library online catalog.

This page provides information on obtaining and modifying (if necessary) URLs from these resources:

Films On Demand

All video titles and individual segments of videos in Films On Demand have a persistent link. 

To link to videos in Films On Demand:

  • Identify a title by searching the ASU Library online catalog or from a search within the Films on Demand portal
    • Open the video
    • Copy the Title URL displayed under the summary beneath the video playback window
    • For off campus use, URLs must include the “ezproxy” information.

 

To link to video segments in Films On Demand:

After opening a video in Films on Demand:

  • Click on a "Segment" displayed to the right of the video window.
  • Copy the Segment URL displayed under the summary beneath the video playback window
  • For off campus use, URLs must include the “ezproxy” information.

 

To obtain the embed code for a video or segments in Films On Demand:

  • Click on "</> Embed" directly beneath the playback window.
  • The embed code will open in a new text display beneath the playback window.

  • To embed in BlackBoard:
    • Select Content
    • Click and hold on Build Content to select "Create" / "Item"
    • Enter your selected Name
    • Click on "HTML" in the Tool Icons displayed for the Text box.  The HTML code view dialogue box will open.
    • Paste in the embed link copied earlier
    • Click "Update"
    • Click "Submit" on the Create Item page

You can also build a personal Playlist for both titles and segments:

  • Connect to Films On Demand portal
  • Select "Sign In or Create Account" to login or create a personal account
  • Search Films On Demand site for titles
  • Connect to the Title
  • Use the "+ Add to Playlist" (located under the video playback window) to create a new playlist and to select individual segments for that playlist
  • Use the Playlists button at the top of the screen to review your playlist.

Alexander Street Press Critical Video Editions

Each video in Academic Video Online Premium has a persistent link and an embed code. 

To link to videos in Academic Video Online Premium (aka Alexander Street Press)

  • Identify a video in a Academic Video Online Premium database.
  • Click on the "Embed/Link" icon at the bottom of the video playback display
  • A new window will open displaying a persistent URL and an embed code for the video
    • Example: Persistent Link
             http://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/View/518178
    • Example:  Embed Link
      <iframe src="https://login.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/login?url=https://search-alexanderstreet-com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/embed/token/069l0chh6cq3cdho" frameborder="0" width="470" height="390"></iframe>
  • Copy the persistent link to employ in Blackboard or other course management system tools for creating content

 

  • To embed in BlackBoard:
    • Select Content
    • Click and hold on Build Content to select "Create" / "Item"
    • Enter your selected Name
    • Click on "HTML" in the Tool Icons displayed for the Text box.  The HTML code view dialogue box will open.
    • Paste in the embed link copied earlier
    • Click "Update"
    • Click "Submit" on the Create Item page

The title of the video along with production details and running time will automatically be included above the video window in BlackBoard.

Kanopy

Below every film on your Kanopy website, you will see a button which says "Share/Embed." You can simply click on this button and you will see three options for sharing and embedding films:

  1. The link for the film that you can send as a URL to anyone associated with your institution
  2. Social media options to share via Facebook, Twitter, etc, and
  3. Embed button, which includes the HTML code that you can copy and paste into a website or course management system post so that the film appears and can be watched there (as opposed to providing a link to open up a separate webpage). If you would like to learn more about how to embed films, you can see how to here.

This same button and suite of sharing and embedding tools is available below any clip or playlist you create as well.

  • To embed in BlackBoard:
    • Select Content
    • Click and hold on Build Content to select "Create" / "Item"
    • Enter your selected Name
    • Click on "HTML" in the Tool Icons displayed for the Text box.  The HTML code view dialogue box will open.
    • Paste in the embed link copied earlier
    • Click "Update"
    • Click "Submit" on the Create Item page

The title of the video along with production details and running time will automatically be included above the video window in BlackBoard.

Ambrose Digital

Each video in the Ambrose Digital portal has persistent URLs.  There is a URL for the full video and another URL for the individual segments of each video.  No modification is necessary to use these links in Blackboard.

To link to a video from the Ambrose Digital Portal:

  • Login to the Portal
  • Click on the link to the full video or segment you wish to use
  • The URL to the play/act displays in the URL address field in your browser
  • Copy/Paste this URL in Blackboard, syllabi, documents, or web pages.

Encyclopaedia Britannica

Each video in the Encyclopaedia Britannica has a persistent URL. No modification is necessary to use these links in Blackboard.
 
To link to a video from The Encyclopaedia Britannica:

  • Identify a video in the Encyclopaedia Britannica
  • Launch the video
  • The video will open in a new window
  • An authenticated persistent link to the video displays in the URL address bar on your browser 
    • Alternatively, click on the "Link to this Page" button in the browser display
    • A new window will pop up with additional persistent URLs formatted in HTML​
  • Copy and Paste the appropriate URL in Blackboard, syllabi, documents, or web pages.

JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments

Each video (article) in JoVe has a persistent URL. No modification is necessary to use these links in Blackboard.
 
To link to a video from JoVe

  • Identify a video in JoVe​
  • Launch the video
  • An authenticated persistent link to the video displays in the URL address bar on your browser
    • Alternatively, there is a persistent URL in the sidebar labeled:  "Share this Article"
  • Copy and Paste the appropriate URL into Blackboard, syllabi, documents, or web pages

Vanderbilt Television Archive

Each video in the Vanderbilt Television News Archive has a persistent URL. No modification is necessary to use these links in Blackboard.
 
To link to a video from The Vanderbilt Television News Archive:

  • Identify a video in the Vanderbilt Television News Archive
  • Click on the "View Video" icon
  • The video will open in a new window
  • A persistent link to the video (labeled "Permalink") displays under the video window
  • Copy/Paste this URL in Blackboard, syllabi, documents, or web pages.

Profile

Dan Stanton's picture
Dan Stanton
My Academic Units: School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Herberger Institute School of Film, Dance and Theatre
CLAS Film and Media Studies
Contact:
Hayden Library
Room C1V
480-965-1798

Hours and Locations